Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids Mi

Great place

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Great place rises I had more time toenjoys the calm relaxed feel of the place
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A wonderful, comfortable place to stay

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: It's clean, safe, comfortable, and inviting.
Cons: My only complaint was that our shower leaked water in the corner, such that our floor would get wet. But that's easily fixed.
Location: Walking distance to the ocean and loads of great restaurants.
After a week spent on safari camping, my friend and I arrived at Blackheath and were promptly offered plush seats in the lounge, a complimentary drink, and a host of options as to which room we would like. Every morning, breakfast was freshly prepared with a variety of options. A tour of the cape and dinner reservations at The Pot Luck Club were all arranged beforehand so we had little to arrange upon arrival. Even laundry services were provided to scrub us free of the grime from constant travel and camping. An iPad is offered to every room. A South African mobile is made available as well. The owners have a pet cat and dog (the lovely Coco) who roam the grounds and make the place even more adorable. This place is beyond comfortable, inviting, and relaxing. It more than lived up to its positive, glowing reviews. I highly recommend Blackheath Lodge for anyone traveling to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful staff

Posted May 6, 2016
We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival. It is a charming little hotel with a great breakfast. We had asked to hotel to help with some tour arrangements nd they provided a comfortable van and a driver who took the time to understand our tour goals. We had a delightful day as a result. The cost of the private tour was comparable to the group tours offered by the standard operators. We would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from airline pilot sydney australia

Charm in the city

Posted May 5, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Clean and charming. Thoughtful extras, right down to loan phones in the rooms with preset taxi numbers.
Cons: Very little, it would be churlish to comment.
Location: Central location, safe, good restaurants and cafes nearby.
Very charming gust house, old world with modern facilities. Staff excellent, very accomodating, beds and linen superior. Facilities excellent. Well done Blackheath.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home from home

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
We absolutely loved staying at Blackheath Lodge. It was like staying with dear friends only better. Everything was organised for us from dinner reservations, cabs, tours, advice about where to go and what to do, a car available at a reasonable rate for day trips, everything. Nothing was too much trouble. The facilities are wonderful with various areas to lounge, wood fires, great breakfasts and fantastic, luxurious beds and linens. We would go back in a heartbeat. It was very hard to leave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: everything, staff, location, food, pool
Cons: wake up calls were missed... but they were great apologising and sorting it out.
Location: walk to waterfront area about 45 mins, along beach front lovely walk. great bar the duchess nearby on main street
Great hotel staff were so friendly and so helpful about anything you need to do in Cape town, be it climb the mountain, get a taxi, chose a bar, chose a restaurant. Felt safe there good location, not far from main street and the beach front to walk to waterfront was easy too. breakfasts were awesome, so much choice and food. great bar too. great pool
4 out of 5
by Verena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The service was above and beyond exceptional.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Everthing
Location: Nice, long walk to V & A/downtown.
Good location, great food and exceptional guest service.