Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

This is the one..... Don't look anywhere else.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Everything... especially the staff.
Cons: Nothing...Please keep it the same for next year...
Location: Location, is excellent if you can walk... If not hire a taxi they are cheap enough.
We loved this Hotel. The staff were incredible they couldn't do enough for us they really looked after us and made our stay a great one. The Hotel itself is not big but the rooms are a good size. It's very quaint with lots of little spots to hide and find solace if you wanted too which we loved. Most hotels are big, sterile, blank canvases but this was somehow soft, gentle, cosy, and had a homely feel to it. The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals that we had were very good and wholesome. The rooms were kept well, warm and clean, bed and bathroom were great. Location, 3 -minute walk from local shops, 7- minutes’ walk from sea front and Park and 25 minute walk “along the sea front” to the Victoria and Alfred waterfront “tourist centre” which has everything that you want. Added extra, Sunbirds in the garden all day....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Dear David and Shirley, Thank you for your beautiful review. We would love to welcome you back for a breakfast and dinner. BHL Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Excellent hotel with exceptional staff.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Our stay at Blackheath Lodge was fantastic, we chose to stay there after travelling from their sister hotel in Hermanus and we were equally impressed with both. The welcome you receive from the staff is brilliant and they help you with knowledgeable itinerary suggestions and getting to know Cape Town. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Our room had everything we needed and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was also a great start to the day. I just wish we could have stayed longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Hi Ben, Glad you got to experience both One Marine Drive and Blackheath Lodge. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China/Canada

Best lodge style place stayed

Posted Jul 9, 2017
I don't usually write reviews unless it's a terrible place that should be known to the future customers. But I must write a review for a complete different reason: Being a frequent world traveler and stayed in many five star and smart places, Blackheath Lodge impressed me with best services and comfortable living which my family enjoyed immensely. We will definitely recommend to our friends or stay there again if we come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing; very attentive and helpful. Gave us great recommendations for trips around Cape Town.
We had a great time at the Blackheath Lodge and did not want to leave!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Blackheath team, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back come#home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old Victorian house in great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Wonderful staff, lovely, comfy room. Brilliant location. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by BHL Team, Hotel Management
Short and Sweet :) So glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, USA

Best stay ever anywhere, in all my travels.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, the room, the breakfast, the bedding, the paintings and other art was breathtaking. The care to detail was unparalleled. I loved everything
Cons: I can't think of a single thing.
Location: The location is central to many activities, You can walk to the beach, cycle and get to many places easily. There are many restuarants nearby.
The welcome as you enter, makes you feel at home immediately. Every single member of the staff is a wonderful asset to the business. Within hours of our arrival, I booked another stay for the following month. The food at breakfast was fresh, delicious and varied. Nothing was too much effort for the staff. They went out of their way to make it one's best stay ever, anywhere, and they succeeded. I have lived in four countries, and travelled many more, and I did not want to leave. I felt safe, iit was quiet, and I wanted to make it my home. Every possible need was anticipated and taken care of. My husband, who usually hikes and surfs, did not want to leave our room. He was so relaxed and content. We are already planning next year's stay and want to spend our 20th wedding anniversary there in 2019.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Charle & Karin, Hotel Management
Yolande, we love welcoming special guests like you. Come home#2019
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
We were recommended by friends. We agreed with them - a very special B&B. Helpful staff to advise on where to go and where to eat. Endless tea, coffee and juice - and cake! Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel! I really relaxed, slept exceptionall

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: I had room number 7. Really spacious, very comfortable bed and pillows. I really loved it!
Simply fantastic! The team is friendly, the rrom is VERY confortable and specious, the bathroom is spacious and has a bid shower. I loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, close to promenade.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely back courtyard w pool, nice staff, easy distance to centre of town and sea beach towns. Secure. Rooms off front hall noisy early in the am (the clientele all seem to retire early and rise very early). Small but cosy.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Fantastic Guest House in Sea Point

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
We loved everything about Blackhealth Lodge from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. They pay attention to the small details: beverage upon arrival, detailed info on things to do and places to eat, use of a local cell phone with lodge and taxi service pre-programmed, tea/coffe/snacks always available, and fantastic local tours. Will definitely stay there again!