Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Western Cape, ZA

Best hotel experience in Cape Town.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: If anything, service in the dining rooms and the bar was slow. We missed a sundowner experience because of that.
Location: Just Google Camps Bay...need I say more?
Absolute fabulous from start to finish. A huge thanks for the reception staff that had the savvy to figure out that we were a family booking into 2 rooms and although Expedia does not afford the luxury to book a minor separate in a room, the hotel staff had put my wife and I in the suite and my daughter in the adjacent room. Great ambiance, great food, great grounds, great walks, great fire places, great staff. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Traditional yet modern with great service

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, service, location, facilities...
Cons: When we stayed there was a crane building something in front of the hotel but that wasnt their fault...other than that not a lot really...
Location: Camps Bay beach, bars, restaurants, Robben Island, Table Top mountain; Stellenbosch vineyards; Nordhoeck beach....Cape Town city centre...
Stayed 4 nights with my 19 year old son in a twin in one of the deck rooms so not main hotel - loads of room, modern facilities, large outdoor, private patio with chairs and sun loungers with spectacular views through the trees over the far right hand side of Camps Bay and the beach. Our room was accessed by a rope bridge over a canyon which was great fun. We ate twice in the evening at the hotel - both times excellent food, reasonable prices and great service and divine surroundings in a portico patio at the back of the hotel with views over the gardens and on over Camps Bay - great place to have a beer and watch the sun set...Breakfast was included and small buffet but beautifully done - choice of fresh fruits, yoghurt and cooked - but not your average cooked dishes - Benedict Blondie was a poached egg with bacon on a muffin and a divine sauce... Staff were great wherever encountered - at reception; in the bar for a beer or Jamiesons or in the morning for a legendary 'Lloyd-o-chino' - a cappucino made by Lloyd....always smiling always helpful I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this well kept secret Camps Bay Retreat (and nor would my son!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel ever stayed in

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Hotel is in a beautiful spot with the main house but I'm pleased that I stayed in the deck villa which is accessed via a rope bridge over a gorge. Everything was great from the location, very helpful staff, excellent food to the quality of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Peaceful hotel in heart of the Cape

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location, tranquility, frindliness
Cons: Drop the references to dogs in the literature. Put us off but in reality were not an issue.
Excellent facilities in a quiet hotel in the centre of Camps Bay with evening sunsets across the Atlantic.. Friendly and helpful staff and excellent food. Will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Kirsti Naude, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat. We appreciate the wonderful feedback and rating and are glad to see that you enjoyed all the aspects of the property. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Kirsti Naude Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Magical setting, beautiful gardens, historic building, great atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hemal from London

Fabulous stay

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Spacious, luxurious room. Excellent breakfast. Fabulous views.
Location: Camps Bay beaches and restaurants. Table Mountain cable-car close by. Drive to Cape Point via Chapman's Peak.
Fabulous hotel in Cape Town with views of Table Mountain and Camps Bay. We were upgraded to a luxurious room with balcony overlooking the Atlantic. Easy access to Camps Bay beaches. Excellent choice at breakfast with tasty, well-presented food. Friendly service with lots of nice touches. Had a brilliant time there, and look forward to another stay there sometime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from windsor

Beautiful property but terrible service

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Beautiful rooms and concept
Cons: The service
This property looks amazing and our deck house room was beautiful but the service was just not up to scratch. Breakfast was a shambles with no croissants or granola and we had to wait 20mins for a coffee. When our room was cleaned, they always forgot to replace the milk/tea/coffee and left dirty sheets. The management needs a real shake up
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Clare from Shoreham By Sea

Wonderful hotel and great service!

Posted Oct 20, 2012
Pros: Service and quality. Felt like a high end hotel without the formality.
Cons: Slight road noise from the balcony but can't be avoided in any beach front hotel in Camps Bay. Certainly nothing that would keep you awake.
Location: Set at the end of the main strip amongst 4 acres of beautiful grounds. Easily within walking distance however there is a complimentary car service.
Stunning hotel, excellent service and beautiful setting! Just returned from a weeks holiday to celebrate my partners 50th and can't give enough praise to the hotel staff for their excellent service. They made a special occasion perfect. The hotel itself is lovely (we stayed in the Villa) and great value for money although certainly doesn't feel cheap (quite the opposite!). The setting and views are stunning and make you feel a million miles away from the bustle of the main strip although easily in walking distance. The complimentary car service for around the Camps Bay area was a real bonus especially on a windy evening or for the less mobile. Other services we used were the restaurant and spa - again, both excellent and very reasonably priced. Can't not mention the dogs either! All lovely but have a special affection for Wanda. :0) Definitely our 1st choice to stay when we go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Top draw

Posted Aug 16, 2010
We had a fantastic 4 night stay here as a part of our honeymoon. Staff were great, very attentive and helpful as its such a small hotel. Grounds of the hotel were lovely and we stayed in the deck house which is across a swing rope bridge (lit up beautifully in the dark). The surrounding area is upmarket with some nice restaurants and bars along the beach front. The only bad thing I could say about the hotel is that it is incredibly loud in the deck house when it is raining as it has a flat roof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Ljuvligt!

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Kolonial stil, individuella rum, havsutsikt från restaurangerna. fint spa
Cons: En del av receptionspersonalen kunde vara mer tillmötesgående.
Location: Fantastiskt läge.
Underbart ställe. Lugnt, vackert, god mat, fin utsikt.