Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait, Kuwait

Nice apartment close to V & A waterfront.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Convenience, location, amenities and space.
Cons: How to reach the main office and who to contact if there are issues. There was not a phone directory. The safe did not work.
Location: Close to the V&A. It was a 5 minute walk, not well lit on the canal side( had to cut through a vacant lot in order to walk downtown.
It was a convenient location to everything on the waterfront. It was a great one bedroom apartment but it was a dark walk along the canal until you were directly behind the apartment building. It was confusing for where you needed to check in. The staff at the check in area were excellent but it was different to get a hold off them. We were told to call a number but that went to the main desk for the apartment building and they were not as helpful. This is the 6th time we have stayed in the Cape, it was good but not our favourite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated - not a hotel. Few services

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Big comfortable rooms
Cons: Wifi
Location: Isolated.
Hotel staff were very nice. Clean comfortable room. The hotel is a little isolated down a short dark road at night and a 10 min walk to any restaurants etc. The biggest complaint was the wifi download speed of 0.5Mb. Video was difficult and skype calls problematic. Ok for just email.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Large apartments overlooking the quay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The location is perfect for the Victoria and Albert waterfront. Only 5 minutes walk. The apartment was large and modern. Bedroom, bathroom, kitchen/dining and living area. Large balcony with table and chairs. There was a dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and microwave. A large fridge and cooker etc perfect for a family. The downside for us was that it took us about 2 hours to find it by asking lots of people. We didn't have GPS in our car. It's at the back of the Conference centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Spacious and comfortable. Quiet on the canal side

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Large size of suite and balcony. Plenty of windows with view of canal. Quiet on the canal side of building.
Cons: Shuttle to and from waterfront would be helpful.
Location: Close to waterfront but not really walking distance.
Fairly long walk to waterfront, and would not be comfortable at night. Car is necessary. Difficult to find address the first time. Safe secure parking.
4 out of 5
by Zerina

carpets & floors in Apartment were very dusty

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
The receptionists were friendly & helpful, had a awesome time though only a night would have loved a few more days in Cape Town , the apartment is tastefully decorated with all essentials available
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend breakaway

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Weekend breakaway in Cape Town Centre. Great location and room. Room 102 is next to the reception and the lifts which make it extremely noisy especially in the bedroom, and when the staff change early mornings. Love the bustle in the harbour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

close to waterfront,conference center.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: near to the conference center
day time construction noise;availability of cooking facility,cleanness of the facility and the surroundings
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us again at our apartments. We appreciate your review and we hope you will continue to come and utilize us in the future. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay once we found check in area, area close to convention ctr, however a little isolated from everything else. Wifi was a very slow in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for staying with us. We you had a wonderful time at our apartments. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central but Noisy

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Central Location View of Table Mountain and city lights from the second bedroom.
Cons: Reduce the noise factor Carry out maintenance when items reported unserviceable.
Location: Walking distance to central Cape Town and V$A Waterfront.
Canal Quays is central but very noisy and is not recommended for light sleepers. Room 701 had a number of maintenance challenges which were reported to reception on day 1 however no rectification was undertaken during our 4 day stay. The major challenge was a high pitched squeal in the aircon that made it impossible to sit in the main living area with the aircon on...door handles were falling off the front door and the main bathroom door and in general the apartment did not "sparkle". The ambiance of the surrounding area is less than desirable with a very noisy major freeway on one side and on the other side a construction site and shipping container yard both of which produced loud noise at all hours of the day and night making it virtually impossible to get a good nights sleep. Some effort had been made to reduce the noise factor with what appeared to be double glazing (?) but it didn't work. On the plus side the appartments are fairly central with a 15minute stroll to the V&A Waterfront and downtown Cape Town. I would not use Canal Quays again due to noise factors and the general ambiance of the immediate surrounding area. There is a small restaurant in the adjacent apartment block. Uber had a few challenges finding access to the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for staying with us at Canal Quays. We have looked at your review and will do our best to rectify the issues you mentioned even though we cannot avoid the sounds of the city buzz.