Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

close to waterfront,conference center.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: near to the conference center
day time construction noise;availability of cooking facility,cleanness of the facility and the surroundings
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central but Noisy

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Central Location View of Table Mountain and city lights from the second bedroom.
Cons: Reduce the noise factor Carry out maintenance when items reported unserviceable.
Location: Walking distance to central Cape Town and V$A Waterfront.
Canal Quays is central but very noisy and is not recommended for light sleepers. Room 701 had a number of maintenance challenges which were reported to reception on day 1 however no rectification was undertaken during our 4 day stay. The major challenge was a high pitched squeal in the aircon that made it impossible to sit in the main living area with the aircon on...door handles were falling off the front door and the main bathroom door and in general the apartment did not "sparkle". The ambiance of the surrounding area is less than desirable with a very noisy major freeway on one side and on the other side a construction site and shipping container yard both of which produced loud noise at all hours of the day and night making it virtually impossible to get a good nights sleep. Some effort had been made to reduce the noise factor with what appeared to be double glazing (?) but it didn't work. On the plus side the appartments are fairly central with a 15minute stroll to the V&A Waterfront and downtown Cape Town. I would not use Canal Quays again due to noise factors and the general ambiance of the immediate surrounding area. There is a small restaurant in the adjacent apartment block. Uber had a few challenges finding access to the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for staying with us at Canal Quays. We have looked at your review and will do our best to rectify the issues you mentioned even though we cannot avoid the sounds of the city buzz.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us at Home from Home. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Josephine from Australia

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
In Cape Town for a conference and this was a great place, close to the CTICC and quick walk to Waterfront area. Room was clean and tidied up every day and lobby staff were friendly and helpful. A tip would be that the lobbby staff are not connected to the hotel booking, which was handled by Home From Home, located in an office accessed from another entrance to the side of the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Dear Josephine Thank you for the review on our property. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in clean apartments and we hope that we made you feel Home from Home. We hope to be of service again in the future. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by Steve from Manchester, UK

Good place to stay for the V&A waterfront

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay if you want to be close to the V&A waterfront, it's a short walk away. The views from the rooms may not be to everybody's taste as you are overlooking the more industrial area of the port but apart from that the rooms are very spacious, clean and well equipped.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you so much for staying with us at Home from Home. We are delighted by your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to be of service again in the future. Kind Regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Canal Quays May 2016

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Large suites, lots of security. Enjoyed morning coffee on deck
Cons: No, just my poor math skills. Replenish the coffee and laundry soap. Ran out of coffee by day 2, soap used very sparingly. dishwasher was smelly.
Location: I liked the location. Tricky at night to return. Taxi required.
Close to V and A but a taxi is normally required. The walkway under the road closes at 7pm. Suite was very nice. Interesting ' 'view' of the harbor, actually a great view of the container yard. Staff was easy to deal with. Some taxi drivers didn't know of its location. I should've done my math better. Suite was more than expected. My fault.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback. Just to clarify that we are a self-catering establishment and we only provide a starter-pack of consumables and amenities on the first night, thereafter guests have to provide their own. I do however apologise if this information was not clearly communicated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for the review and good rating. We hope to see you again in the future and be of service again. Kind regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager guestservices@homefromhome.co.za
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smart. Well appointed apartment in great location.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I have stayed here before with my husband, before kids. This time I stayed for 1 night with 2 kids. The location is ideal for tourists, locals and business travellers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you staying with us at Canal Quays. We are grateful for the feedback and appreciate the recommendation. We hope to be of service again in the future. Kind regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager guestservices@homefromhome.co.za
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
We would not have a problem staying here again but it's a little bit out the way to get to it and views aren't the best. Staff were very helpful and accommodation was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you appreciated the staff and the accommodation. We hope you will consider coming to stay with us again despite you not very happy with the whereabouts of our apartments.
3 out of 5
by Charl

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Home from Home, Hotel Management
Dear Charl Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Warren Ndlovu Guest Services Manager guestservices@homefromhome.co.za