Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good and the staff were excellent, although one morning we had to wait over 30 minutes to be served
Cons: Rather than simply taking complaints on board, make an effort to resolve them. We would love to visit CPT again, but we wont be returning to Cape diem
Location: Very central, close to the waterfront
We stayed in Cape Diem for 3 nights towards the end of our holiday in South Africa. Our stay was largely pleasant, upon our entrance we were greeted with drinks and an involved discussion of what there was to do and how to go about it. But that soon dropped off and issues we had and the way they were dealt with ruined our experience and left us feeling like we had overpaid on more than one occasion. The television in our bedroom had no sound. We asked that this get looked at and we were left with a note that the TV was tested with the DVD player, that the sound worked and that if we wanted to watch TV we had to rewire it to the box. I had already attempted to rewire it previously. I attempted to rewire the cables to the TV box and it continued to not work. I can only speculate that it was the TV box that was broken. No attempt was made to compensate us for having broken equipment in the room. Similarly, on our penultimate day we had provided the laundry to be done, in an obvious rush, under the advice that if we wanted the laundry done same day we needed to provide it in the morning. The laundry was not provided the same day and the explanation was given that we did not specify that it needed to be. This resulted in us being late out the next morning, on our final day, and we were not able to do everything we wanted to. As with the TV issue, an excuse was made and an apology was given, but there was no real effort made to make the situation right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Cant be faulted

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, fresh and comfortable. Location great, approx 15 mins walk to main front. Staff excellent from the moment you arrive, friendly and attentive
The hotel cant be faulted. Clean, fresh and comfortable. Location great, approx 15 mins walk to main front. Staff excellent from the moment you arrive, friendly and attentive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Bianca - Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review on Cape Diem Lodge! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Wishing you all the best and many more happy travels! Warm regards, Bianca Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AMAZING stay near V&A waterfront in Cape Town!

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was PERFECT. we only stayed one night but left wanting to come back. What a gem!! would absolutely recommend, the location is perfect, truly a 10min walk to the waterfront - we did everything walking. It was a 5 star stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on Cape Diem Lodge! We really pride ourselves in our little guesthouse and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you have a moment, please rate us on Tripadvisor as well, as small businesses such as ourselves, benefit greatly from their platform! Wishing you all the best and many more happy travels! Warm regards, Bianca Management
4 out of 5
by Heather

Convenient for V & A Waterfront

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was small and in a quiet area. Staff were all very helpful. Rooms good with a view of the pool and a door leading directly from the room to the pool area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017
Dear Heather, Dear Thomas, Thank you for your review on Cape Diem Lodge! We really pride ourselves in our little guesthouse and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! If you have a moment, please rate us on Tripadvisor as well, as small businesses such as ourselves, benefit greatly from their platform! Wishing you all the best and many more happy travels! Warm regards, Bianca Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cintsa South Africa

Perfect

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Staff.location.clean.quiet
Location: Waterfront Camps bay
Very pleased..this place was super clean and cozy. Very quiet Bianca and Daniel were extremely welcoming and met all our needs..Super polite staff as well. Breakfast was super yummy.. Rooms were big and cozy.. everything that we expected.. We will be returning.. Thanks for 2 great nights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful staff, modern furnishings, clean throughout, good position with 5 to 10 minute walk to waterfront area.
4 out of 5
by Joshua from Minneapolis

Perfect central location in quiet neighborhood

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Cape Diem Lodge. Perfect location in Green Point area. Short walk to Waterfront and many great restaurants. Staff was attentive and welcoming, and site is very secure. We were there during winter so unfortunately were not able to take advantage of the lovely pool area. Breakfast was great. Internet worked well and was fast. Our room was fine, though bed was in loft and overall a bit cramped compared to other rooms and it was a little loud when others came in the front door but not a big deal. Another in our party had the front suite and it was large and very nice. The rooms outside of the main house looked great as well. Nice common areas both inside and out. We had a car, and although all the garage parking spaces were being used on our visit, we parked right outside on the street without problems. Poor selection of TV channels if that is important to you. But for the most part an amazing value for money and I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by David from Lurgan

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel with great service. Tastefully decorated and well maintained. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
by Jeremiah from Vernon, BC, Canada

Lovely stay in a great location

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly owner and staff. We were given a warm welcome with our choice of complimentary drinks. Delicious breakfast with many options. Safe parking available in garage. Very nice, clean room and good location to restaurants and the V&A Waterfront. Just a couple things that could be improved upon: our room was extremely humid - ventilation could be improved. Also, there is very minimal sound insulation - you could hear any and all noises from people talking in the lobby and the staff working in the kitchen. If you're a sensitive sleeper, this could pose a problem if your room is near the lobby. Also, it's great that there is free wifi but it was only available in the lobby, which is a bit inconvenient. Overall, a nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Its location, the friendliness and welcoming atmosphere and the facilities.
Location: A 10 minute walk from the V&A, there are also a number of bars, restaurants and a Woolworths just at the end of the road.
We had a week here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is a great place to stay within an easy walk of the V&A Waterfront and all it has to offer. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable. The Owner (Daniel) and all the staff are really helpful and friendly. Daniel organised a number of trips and taxis for us, all with a really professional company, which were all really good. The Hotel's facilities were great and the pool area was modern and a really relaxing area for chilling out after a day out sight-seeing. We will be using Cape Diem again when we come back to Cape Town.