Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely helpful staff and wonderful breakfast

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Location: Markets, shops and lots of restaurants
My friend and I loved this hotel! The breakfast was great, so many options which set us up for days of exploring Cape Town. It was also not far from the airport, an uber taxi costed 120 zar, each way. Fantastic restaurants on the road, and those around the hotel too. The room was clean and so pretty. The bed was huge and comfortable too. More than any of this, the staff at the hotel made us sure to visit again, they were so helpful, funny and went out of their way to make it a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Real heritage charm with great cuisine all around

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Enchanted with the old building and the impeccable service. Wonderful suite. Great restaurants in the same building and others a stone's throw away.
Cons: Extra bin next to the tea and coffee area.
Location: City centre with cobbled footpaths and laneways. A little scrappy in places, but still fascinating.
Enchanted with the old building and the impeccable service. Wonderful suite. Great restaurants in the same building and others a stone's throw away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Nice hotel with lots of character and great staff

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Me and my wife stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even left rose petals and sparkling wine in the room for us. The hotel has a very classic and stylish feel and contrary to other reviews which state noise being a problem we had no issues at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel in great location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We spent 4 nights at this hotel and overall it has been a great experience. The rooms are large and comfortable, the hotel is well located (within a few minutes drive of the Waterfront, Table Mountain, Lions Head, great restaurants and very easy access to the main routes in and out of Cape Town). The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and really helpful. The only problems we found was the temperature control for the shower was annoyingly sensitive, but that is as ok as the shower was really great when finally right! The breakfast was decent for a 4 star hotel, but they could do with better coffee!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely nice place with history

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Stuff are extremely friendly. The hotel gives you the experience of luxuriousness as well as local spirit. Bamford and Rowayda from the hotel were extremely helpful and pleasant. One day we had to leave 4 am for the shark diving, and on our way out we found that the stuff prepared breakfast boxes to take out for the trip. We didn't want to leave the hotel from the overall experience. Also, the food and restaurants were class A. I would definetly go back again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Welcome Historical - Modern Boutique Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Orbitz
We really enjoyed our stay, from the welcome drink, to the attention to detail. The history, courtyard, breakfast, and comfort were great.
2 out of 5
by izzet

Don't stay here If you want to sleep

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very charming and has a great breakfast, but don't stay here if you actually want to sleep. My room was on top of a loud bar. Might as well have slept on the street with the noise level coming up into the room from 7 in the evening. Only to wake up the next morning to hear housekeeping's conversation in the hallway. Not exactly what I was expecting after flying half way across the world. The bed was comfortable, but defeats the purpose if you can't sleep. I noticed ear plugs in the room, as if one is suppose to treat this as if trying to sleep on an airplane. Kind staff, but I would steer clear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Great place, great staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Finishing up my month's stay in Africa!

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfasts were very good. The rooms were large and comfortable. It was close to everything.....city bus tours, free walking tours and lots of restaurants. We were in CapeTown at the start of our SA time and at the end. We stayed in the Victoria waterfront for two nights and finished up here for four nights. Both had there strong points.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is very accommodating and pleasant!