Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

statt not nice and friendly

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: ok
Cons: could have been more helpful very rude
Location: not great
the staff were not nice at all when are flight was delayed the guy that we had to book in with was horrible very disappointing
4 out of 5
by ALBUAINAIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Varsha from Chicago

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately, this hotel did not live up to the expectation. We faced many challenges starting from poor service upon check-in, appliances such as coffee machine/washing machine not working and the room stinking with smoke (ours was non smoking room). May this hotel was a 5 star hotel a few years ago, not any more... the hotel is jazzed up to look fancy but is a mere 1 star hotel in opinion. Except for the location, there is not one good thing I can point out about this hotel. We did not get our moneys worth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Problems with facilities and equipment in our room

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Cape Royale Cafe serves beautiful breakfast. Coffee and freashly baked Croissant were divine! Barista was also friendly.
Cons: Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance!
Location: Short walk to V & A Waterfront but it is a bit scarely walking through Portswood road after dark.
On the very late arrival, we were welcomed by luke warm shower. Also, I couldn't work out how to watch TV, as there was no detailed instruction in the room. TV in the main bedroom didn't even turn on. On the 2nd day, Wi-Fi failed as previous guests tampered the cable. That's not the hotel's fault but I guarantee that they don't check reguraly if facilities and equipment are working properly. The exhaust fan in the main bath room was not working at all. A globe of the floor lamp needed to be replaced. Still worse, the kettle in the room don't turn off automatically! One night, I found steam was filled in the kitchen and the kettle sounded like taking off! I reported everything but the kettle as I was sick and tired to fix their problems. When we asked Duty Manager if they could offer us a complimentary breakfast at Cape Royale Cafe, he said he would let us know but we didn't hear from him at all. It's a shame there is a big potential to be a true 5 star hotel but my experience was not that standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by mitchell from Pittsburgh, PA USA

The Cape Royale - A wonderful hotel in Cape Town

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We totally loved the Cape Royale Hotel. The location was close to the waterfront and walking distance to the convention center. The accommodations were beautiful with large rooms, crystal chandeliers, granite countertops and luxurious baths. The lobby was wonderful looking and the staff could not have been nicer. The small coffee shop felt like something in Paris. This might have been one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The exchange rate for US dollars made this hotel very affordable. If you go to Cape Town, please take my advice and stay at the Cape Royale!!!
5 out of 5
by soheil

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
very good at all .
4 out of 5
by Lars from Göteborg

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Bra hotell och läge. Hotellet kanske hade lite väl små ytor avseende restauranger och lobby. Skybaren med pool också litet. I övrigt superbra rum och service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Great room, excellent location. Like an apartment in the city. We'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by The Royale Team, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Cape Royale. We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location and that you felt at home with us. Hope to welcome you back soon. The Royale Team
5 out of 5
by Scott from Newport Beach California

Great hotel and Location

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
The manager, Gallo, was extremely helpful when any issue came up and the staff were all very polite and helpful. We had a two room suite that was very large and comfortable. The hotel is a fairly short 3 block walk to the waterfront and the V&A Mall. I highly recommend this hotel.