Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Problems with facilities and equipment in our room

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Cape Royale Cafe serves beautiful breakfast. Coffee and freashly baked Croissant were divine! Barista was also friendly.
Cons: Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance!
Location: Short walk to V & A Waterfront but it is a bit scarely walking through Portswood road after dark.
On the very late arrival, we were welcomed by luke warm shower. Also, I couldn't work out how to watch TV, as there was no detailed instruction in the room. TV in the main bedroom didn't even turn on. On the 2nd day, Wi-Fi failed as previous guests tampered the cable. That's not the hotel's fault but I guarantee that they don't check reguraly if facilities and equipment are working properly. The exhaust fan in the main bath room was not working at all. A globe of the floor lamp needed to be replaced. Still worse, the kettle in the room don't turn off automatically! One night, I found steam was filled in the kitchen and the kettle sounded like taking off! I reported everything but the kettle as I was sick and tired to fix their problems. When we asked Duty Manager if they could offer us a complimentary breakfast at Cape Royale Cafe, he said he would let us know but we didn't hear from him at all. It's a shame there is a big potential to be a true 5 star hotel but my experience was not that standard.
5 out of 5
by soheil

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
very good at all .
4 out of 5
by Lars from Göteborg

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Bra hotell och läge. Hotellet kanske hade lite väl små ytor avseende restauranger och lobby. Skybaren med pool också litet. I övrigt superbra rum och service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Great room, excellent location. Like an apartment in the city. We'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by The Royale Team, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Cape Royale. We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location and that you felt at home with us. Hope to welcome you back soon. The Royale Team
5 out of 5
by Scott from Newport Beach California

Great hotel and Location

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
The manager, Gallo, was extremely helpful when any issue came up and the staff were all very polite and helpful. We had a two room suite that was very large and comfortable. The hotel is a fairly short 3 block walk to the waterfront and the V&A Mall. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Angenehmes Hotel in der Nähe der Waterfront

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Angenehmes Hotel, sehr schöne Suite, freundlicher Service. Leider hat das Hotel nur ein kleines (Frühstücks-) Restaurant. Jedoch gibt es in unmittelbarer Umgebung verschiedene externe Restaurants. Die Waterfront ist ca. 10 Minuten per Fuß entfernt.
3 out of 5
by Oyvind Andreas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Luxury hotel in green point

Posted Mar 13, 2016
The room was large and well appointed with modern appliances including a Nespresso coffee maker and a Bluetooth sound system. The full kitchen offered the ability to self cater should you choose to. The staff were helpful and the rooftop pool and bar have amazing views. On a windy day you'll want to find shelter though.
5 out of 5
by simone from johannesburg

best kept secret in cape town

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and beautifully furnished. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a great stay and will deffinatelly return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Rooms were clean and oractical but by no meams 5 stars accomidations. Restaurant was just a cafe and terrible service. Pool devk was minimal. Setvice was not quality