Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Beautiful hotel with old style look but very modern rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lot of bang for your buck

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location Friendly and helpful staff PRICE Spacious Rooms
Cons: The welcome gong is quirky. We used room service and had to ask for napkins, salt & pepper & syrup. They were quick to bring them when asked.
My Best Friend and I enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Cape Royalle after a week long safari. The location was terrific, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the Waterfront was great. We booked a two bedroom/2 bath suite which was quite spacious and comfortable. The suite was an amazing value. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Cape Town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

statt not nice and friendly

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: ok
Cons: could have been more helpful very rude
Location: not great
the staff were not nice at all when are flight was delayed the guy that we had to book in with was horrible very disappointing
5 out of 5
by soheil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Margrete from Stavanger,Norway

Fantastisk opphold, 100 prosent fornøyd

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
En fantastisk flott service både på hotellet og frokostservering.
4 out of 5
by ALBUAINAIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Varsha from Chicago

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately, this hotel did not live up to the expectation. We faced many challenges starting from poor service upon check-in, appliances such as coffee machine/washing machine not working and the room stinking with smoke (ours was non smoking room). May this hotel was a 5 star hotel a few years ago, not any more... the hotel is jazzed up to look fancy but is a mere 1 star hotel in opinion. Except for the location, there is not one good thing I can point out about this hotel. We did not get our moneys worth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Problems with facilities and equipment in our room

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Cape Royale Cafe serves beautiful breakfast. Coffee and freashly baked Croissant were divine! Barista was also friendly.
Cons: Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance!
Location: Short walk to V & A Waterfront but it is a bit scarely walking through Portswood road after dark.
On the very late arrival, we were welcomed by luke warm shower. Also, I couldn't work out how to watch TV, as there was no detailed instruction in the room. TV in the main bedroom didn't even turn on. On the 2nd day, Wi-Fi failed as previous guests tampered the cable. That's not the hotel's fault but I guarantee that they don't check reguraly if facilities and equipment are working properly. The exhaust fan in the main bath room was not working at all. A globe of the floor lamp needed to be replaced. Still worse, the kettle in the room don't turn off automatically! One night, I found steam was filled in the kitchen and the kettle sounded like taking off! I reported everything but the kettle as I was sick and tired to fix their problems. When we asked Duty Manager if they could offer us a complimentary breakfast at Cape Royale Cafe, he said he would let us know but we didn't hear from him at all. It's a shame there is a big potential to be a true 5 star hotel but my experience was not that standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by mitchell from Pittsburgh, PA USA

The Cape Royale - A wonderful hotel in Cape Town

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We totally loved the Cape Royale Hotel. The location was close to the waterfront and walking distance to the convention center. The accommodations were beautiful with large rooms, crystal chandeliers, granite countertops and luxurious baths. The lobby was wonderful looking and the staff could not have been nicer. The small coffee shop felt like something in Paris. This might have been one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The exchange rate for US dollars made this hotel very affordable. If you go to Cape Town, please take my advice and stay at the Cape Royale!!!