Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent entry to Cape Town

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The staff makes this a go-to destination. They create a no-worry environment - just what you want on a vacation.
The welcome at the Cape Standard couldn't have been better. From early emails to Margot about airport transfers and car rental, to the warm greeting we received from Paddington upon our late-night arrival, the dinner recommendations and reservations, plus general tips on getting around the city, the delicious breakfast, and the beautiful design of the place, we felt at home immediately. Really we couldn't ask for more. Cape Standard is a find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We stayed at the Cape Standard for 4 nights. We were looked after really well from the minute we walked in until we left. The room was very modern and comfortable and the communal areas are well decorated and relaxing. Breakfast was simple but delicious each day and the service we received was brilliant. A special thanks to Paddington, he was a great host, always smiling and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Cape Standard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We do have a great team here who go the extra mile to make sure all our guests are well-looked after. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Cozy tropical feel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Thanks so much to Margot, Jonathan and Paddington!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and freindly helpful staff.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely bouteque B&B
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again on your next stay visit to Cape Town
1 out of 5
by Ralph M from Pretoria

Staying at a Morgue between Building Sites

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible, surrounded by Building Sites you stay in a room that has the charm of a morgue, grey walls, grey floors, no paintings. No telephone on the room, no Mini Bar and Breakfast the bare essentials, not even cold meats or proper hot breakfast selection. For that price a total rip-off!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are terribly concerned about your review. Each of our rooms do have a fully stocked mini bar, we could've definitely assisted with putting a telephone in the room for you if you needed one, we find that most guests have their own phones and/or tablets to use when on holiday. Our buffet consists of cold meats, cereals, yoghurt, bread rolls and a fruit salad as well as a cooked hot breakfast if you prefer. We were not informed of the building that is behind the guest house and doesn't affect our breakfast area and entertainment areas. Kind Regards
2 out of 5
by Donnique from Sandton Gauteng

Friendly staff, dirty rooms.

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Th estaff cannot be faulted on their service and in fairness the owner did offer us an alternative room however our room was dirty. The curtains were torn and stained. The lights next to the bed are dirt ridden and dusty, the bathroom was covered in sand when we arrived. The walls are marked and dirty. The carpet is not clean. The room just is not up to standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donnique Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the experience and will definitely make sure that this never happens again. We really hope to see you back again to spoil you and can say that you will have an excellent experience with us. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Swindon UK

Enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
The staff and hotel were lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review We would love to welcome you back again Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by A Jay from Seattle

Very nice hotel and great value for the money.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The staff were attentive and friendly. The location was fairly convenient. I highly recommend staying at the Cape Standard Guest House.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful feedback We are always happy to hear that guests love our product. We hope to see you back soon again Kind Regards
4 out of 5
by Marion from Tucson, Az

very nice b and b in Greenpoint

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable, nicely decorated b and b, well located in Greenpoint. Trendy enough for our adult son, and the staff made my husband and me feel welcome as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you for the review We hope to welcome you back again in the near future Kind Regards