Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Cozy hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Me and my friend really enjoyed our stay in this hotel , nothing to complain about really, allocation is perfect, next to the famous Long street, breakfast variety was big, staff was helpful and friendly, the only thing is that the lift was broken in our last day so we had to carry our suit cases all of way from the 4th floor but guess if we would ask staff to send someone to help us it wouldn't be an issue at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Jess, Hotel Management
Dear Kristina Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us! We really appreciate your kind comments and are so glad that you had a good time with us. We are currently replacing our “very old” elevators with brand new, green efficiency OTIS lifts. Each lift takes approximately 9 weeks to completely replace from start to finish. These lifts are being replaced one at a time – leaving one elevator ALWAYS working. Assuring that we do not disrupt our guest stay or inconvenience them in any way. It seems that it did disrupt you, however, and for that we are really sorry. We would have definitely assisted you with your luggage :) Please come and visit us again - we loved having you here with us! Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
No problems, all was fine, walkable to Long street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Great location staff are outstanding nothing is too much trouble. Room was imaculate. Only slight downside was a bit noisy at night time may be better in a higher room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Great location in town. Good view of Table Mountain if you want to pay for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2015 by Jess, Hotel Management
Dear Randal Thank you for the 4/5 stars :) We hope we see you again very soon! Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from München

Ideales Stadthotel in ruhiger Lage

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Moderne,helle und geschmackvolle Einrichtung. Freundlichkeit und Aufmerksamkeit des Personals. Zentrale Lage.
Cons: Hellhörigkeit der Zimmer.
Ideal für Stadterkundung zu Fuß; für sportliche auch zur Waterfront. Nähe zur Long Street auch abends praktisch. Öffentliche Busse in Nähe. Sehr freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal. Angenehm persönliche Atmosphäre. Geschmackvolle Einrichtung; gutes Frühstück. Ein guter Start für ersten Kapstadt Aufenthalt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by Jess, Hotel Management
Wow! Vielen, vielen Dank für die wunderbare Bewertung ! Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder zu sehen. Herzliche Grüße , Jess & the Hollow Teams
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel, good locatoin

Posted Dec 11, 2015
The hotel is in a good, picturesque location. The service was a bit slow, the check-in process took more than an hour. The food was okay. It is slightly expensive for the kind of service quality and efficiency available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2015 by Jess, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so sorry that your first impression on check-in wasn't as good as you hoped it would be. We are trying to develop a better check-in process and so if you ever had a moment to contact me directly on the details of the issues then I would be very grateful. Your comments on the restaurant is noted - thank you for bringing this to our attention Hope to hear from you soon Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traveling the world

Great location, great staff, very comfortable

Posted Nov 29, 2015
What a wonderful hotel! The staff were very gracious, attentive and helpful from making dinner reservations and giving sightseeing advice to fixing the phone in my room. I appreciated the turn down service every night. The quality and selection at breakfast was superb. Dinner in the restaurant was good, and my son was grateful they had room service. We had a corner room with two twin beds, which was quite spacious, and very clean. All the amenities were provided, such as toiletries, hair dryer, and safe in the room, pen and note pad. The location was ideal as well, right across the street from the Company's Garden and other landmarks and attractions. I appreciated the hotel shuttle to the waterfront, as well as the driver who was available for transportation to other locations (for a reasonable fee). Laundry service was a bit pricey for me, but the staff directed me to a laudromat two blocks away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by Jess, Hotel Management
Wow, Ali! Thank you so much for the fantastic and detailed review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We loved having you here and can't wait until you return! Warm regards, Jess & the Hollow Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUSTRALIA

A nice hotel but security & noise a problem

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: In a great location near CBD, park, museum, food & entertainment precincts. Impeccably clean. Excellent quality linens/towels. Lovely Restaurant staff
Cons: Communication between the staff could be improved so that issues, like ours, could have been addressed during our 4 night stay. Ask for a quiet room.
Location: Near CBD, park, museum, food & entertainment precincts. Walk to everything.
If security issues are addressed, this would be a decent hotel. It is in a great location and is impeccably clean. Excellent quality linens/towels. For us, all positive impressions were undermined by a security issue & by the noisy environment both outside the hotel (from the alleyway to the rear of the hotel) & from within the hotel, which we experienced. Before going to sleep 1st night we noticed that the door to our balcony was unlocked & unable to be locked as there was no key in our room. A call to reception led to us being informed that there was no key available& there was no other room for us to move to. As someone could easily climb onto our balcony & enter our unlocked room whilst we were sleeping, we decided that we would need to find alternate & secure accommodation elsewhere & we let the night manager know of our intentions. The hotel security officer arrived with a handful of spare keys to try in the lock. After about 20mins he found a key that could lock the door. It became stuck in the lock but our door was now locked & secure for us. Also, our room was right near the lift & stairwell so was loud with people/staff talking as they waited outside our door. We had interrupted sleep on all of the 4 nights we stayed due to loud talking outside our door and yelling of people in the alleyway. Security & sleep are paramount to a good stay so,sadly, would not choose to stay again despite it being a lovely looking hotel in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pay a bit extra for fabulous mountain view.

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Spacious comfortable bedroom but tiny bathroom. Staff friendly and always very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carlos from Miami

Great little hotel in superb location

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great location. Room was impecable. Breakfast was very decent, but not many options for veg/vegans. Staff was helpful. Management was topnotch. Cons: One of the elevators did not work. Toilet broke a couple of times. Overall great experience.