Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zambia

Great location, great service

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Cons: The elevators are slow, and it is difficult to find the breakfast room at first.
We stayed in June 2015 and had 2 rooms. We found the hotel very comfortable and the location was excellent, walking distance to many good restaurants and activities. The breakfast as good with lots of options, even live piano music. The pool area is a little small, but we did not use it as it was too cold in June. The staff were excellent and very helpful and attentive. Overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guayaquil - Ecuador

Great value for what you pay, conveniently located

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Location, the hotel itself
Cons: Male staff are rude, they shoud change their attitude. Wifi should be unlimited (extra $ is OK) insted of paying a value for a fixed amount of megas.
Location: Very convinient, on the way to table mountain, double decker bus stop two blocks away. Just don't walk on sundays...
This hotel is a very good option if you are looking for a nice place, in a safe place and short budget. PROS: Location, facilities CONS: No wifi included, no breakfast included One thing I didn't like AT ALL and need to complaint, is the way male staff (I have to specify because most of the women were very kind and helpful) were very rude and didn't mind at all in helping you when you have a problem. This was my case: I bought a voucher for the internet, the first day it worked perfectly, the second day it didn't. Off couse I asked for help and Yasser Sullivan was really rude, he didn't mind at all in trying to help my problem, and his answer was (repeatedly): "It is your phone, no one else have problems". What I will like to highlight in this case is how kind and sweet was Tamsym, she took the time and help me with my problem and actually fix it so I could finally use the wifi I bought and talk with my family. One last thing, don't trust on their wake up calls, they forget (they call me after 20 minutes they were supposed to). Despite all this, I will stay again on this hotel, is really cheap, for me it offers you more than you pay for. PD: For women, I think they didn't have hair dryers (I never really asked though), and after my stay I realized in other hotels in South Africa they keep them on drowers in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LAD, AO

Nice and close to parliament gardens - DIESELwatch

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: I liked having a mini bar in the room. Asked for it to be emptied and used it to store my breakfast (yogurt) snacks (fruit & vegetables) and water.
Cons: I'd appreciate larger curtains so one can truly block the light, to have A/Cs that would allow one to turn off the temperature light. Free INTERNET.
Location: This hotel is located close to parliament gardens and the slave museum (5 streets down), and 2 streets down (or a 5min walk) you get to Loop street.
Liked the room which was really spacious and apparently clean (there was an ear bud closed to the bed table when I arrived that stayed on the exact same spot for 2 more days). The 2 luggage racks were indispensable, held my suitcases during my entire stays; the closet was spacious, the beds fluffy and comfortable; the bathroom spacious. The staff at the reception desk were always courteous. For being a 4-star I disliked the fact that Internet access isn't free for guests - they charge R100 for 500MB! I declined it, bought a SIM card for R5.00 and bought R85 for 300MB of data that lasted me beyond 2 weeks. As for local tourist spots, this hotel is within a 5min walk to the parliament Gardens or to the Market on the square, and is a short drive away to table Mountain (R50 to 80 cab drive) and to the Waterfront or the Aquarium (R50 to 70 cab drive). And one could either leisurely walk (15-20min) or take a cab to the Castle of Good Hope. I got really scared on the 1st morning when I woke up hearing something strange & loud, first thought the hotel was under attack and later realized it was a Muslim call to prayer - it comes form across the street, sounds like if they were in the room. Never got used to it. I didn't use room service, neither the gym nor the pool (closed because it was winter) nor any of the restaurants. Never had breakfast at the hotel - there are several cute cafes and restaurants nearby and I had to try some.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Acceptable but leaves a lot to be desired.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Breakfast room was nice and the breakfast was fantastic at a reasonable price. They even had a piano with someone playing each morning. Nice touch.
Cons: The cost of wi fi was ridiculous for this day and age and you could not purchase a wi fi package, you can purchase a small amount of usage at a time.
Location: The location was acceptable. Liquor store next to it could be an issue. restaurants near by too.
Hotel was pleasant, small lobby and looked a bit worn. Check in was ok, however they made a point of letting me know breakfast was not included in my rate and neither wi fi or internet were free to use anywhere in the hotel. strange but ok. Rooms were small , beds were comfortable, the bath towels another story. They were like a large piece of sand paper, very rough and unpleasant and they did not even change them everyday. I had to call twice. The hotel restaurant was in my opinion very over rated. They never asked how i wanted my burger cooked and then brought it to me cook like a piece of rubber. I get the impression they are not use to American tourist at this hotel as they were taken whenever i asked for assistance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Okay Stay in capetown

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast was a bit plain and not worth the price. wifi is an expensive Extra. Not in a great part of town - I wouldn't walk to/from at night. But it was close to the hop on/off bus tours and I had no issues with safety in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Capetown

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Staff was extremely helpful in setting up our tours and transports. Room was clean.
Location: Downtown. Close to tourist attractions accessible by car, bus, or hotel transport.
Very helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet. Very reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jhb

nice hotel close to tourist attractions

Posted May 13, 2015
Good experience, friendly and efficient hotel staff, beautiful views of table mountain and Bo-Kaap. Close to waterfront with shuttle services available. Also close to lovely restaurants and many of the main tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Great place to stay, central to the city, clean & tidy, staff were very friendly and always available to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I had a great time, facilities were fantastic, close to town and about 30 minutes walking form the V&A Waterfront. Very convenient for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Very average hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
A supposedly 4 Star Hotel with 2 or 3 Star service. The amenities and basics needs to be checked an out in order. Very basic and average hotel. Nothing great at all.