Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location........pristine guesthouse.....

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Superb locatiion......immaculate cleanliness and a pervasive homeliness which is difficult to attain.
Cons: A considerable amount of thought and hard work has obviously gone into making the Chartfield into the gem that it is........ I am unable to add to it
Location: The Chartfield has one of the finest views to be had in a region where fine views abound.....the Western Cape is renowned as a visitors mecca.
A standard of hospitality second to none in my 45+ years of world travel........often in highly prestigious hotels..........few management teams have matched the genuine desire to please which is found at the Chartfield Guesthouse.....Kalk Bay.
4 out of 5
by Marion from Cape Town

break from the city

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
we stayed for 1 night only to get out of the City (CT)- thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the staff were outstanding , couldn't do enough for their guests - would definately go again
5 out of 5
by Zoe from UK

Lovely friendly staff

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Warm welcome on arrival, plenty of advise on where was great to go out and eat locally. The room was a little creaky with the wooden flooring and every movement of those above us could be heard. Having said that the bathroom was nice and spacious with a great powerful shower. Breakfast was served on the outdoor patio overlooking the ocean which was a great start to the day and with plenty of choice too.
5 out of 5
by Raymond from Whipsnade Dunstable bedfordshire

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very good thanks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA, USA

Pleasant, Accommodating, Comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location is always number one consideration and this was perfect.
Location: Near the wharf, restaurants and shops.
The staff was pleasant upon our very-late-after-hours arrival from the USA. We were worn out from our long flights and were welcomed with a comfortable room and quiet accommodation. The guest house was centrally located in Kalk Bay making our walks to restaurants, shopping and even church on Sunday morning very convenient. I would recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Very central & friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from South Africa

Fantastic place!

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful getaway spot with great service
5 out of 5
by Owen from Edinburgh

A Fantastic Place to Stay

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay from start to finish at Chartfield. The decor is fresh, contemporary and very stylish. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with fantastic bathrooms (large bath and large separate shower with full water pressure and constant hot water). Florian and his staff were fantastic and he was a fountain of information. I really couldn't recommend this place more highly. Stay here!
5 out of 5
by Farid from Johannesburg

Chartfield Guesthouse review

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Chartfield Guesthouse probably had the most immaculately clean room, I've ever had the honour of staying at - they really do have an attention to detail. Service wise they were also great - offering me extra assistance to dry out my wetsuit and making me a cappuccino late in the evening. The view from the room over the Kalk Bay harbour was also great. The Guesthouse is in easy walking distance to the restaurants on the Main Street. Note however that the Guesthouse does not have off-street parking (and the roads are relatively narrow) nor does it have a back-up generator when the electricity supply is disrupted (happened while I was there). They do provide you with a torch which is cute but really I expect a guesthouse to have a backup electricity solution. Regardless I enjoyed my short stay and I think its great value at the price point - will definitely consider visiting again.