Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent Getaway

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Very clean and the room was exactly as pictures on the website.
Chartfield Guesthouse was a very pleasant surprise and a great escape from the hustle of Cape Town. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We only stayed two nights ( it was winter there) but I would stay longer during the summer months if the opportunity arose. It is close to the center of town and all restaurants are within easy walking distance. The Olympic Cafe is a must!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Friendly guesthouse with great views

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: See comments above - to summarise, we felt that we were welcomed and that the guesthouse was committed to making our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Cons: The WiFi was not great (and a small extra charge) but this may have been outside the guesthouse's control.
Location: Right in the middle of Kalk Bay and two minutes (slow) walk from shops and restaurants. Convenient for Cape Town - Uber fare to Cape Town about £8.
We stayed for 4 nights in the Impala room and had a wonderful time. Highlights included the views of the sea and the mountains from our room, the lovely breakfasts served outside and the friendly and helpful staff. The guesthouse also arranged the transfer back to the airport at a very reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by hester from Johannesburg

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The lay-out of the room was not great. The bedside tables were way to small for the huge lamps and the one lamp in front of the entrance to the bathroom.
5 out of 5
by peter from København

super service

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Super service I receptionen.Morgenmad for dyr
5 out of 5
by Einar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

zentral gelegen und dennoch ruhig

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: geschmackvoll eingerichtet
Cons: Warmwasser
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in Kalk Bay, Cape of good Hope über kurze Autofahrt erreichbar. Shopping, Baden, Restaurants in Laufnähe.
schönes kleine Guesthouse, nettes freundliches Team. Tolle Tips zu Restaurants in der Nähe. Super Frühstück, schöner Pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fremragende overnatningssted

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Behagelig og afslappet atmosfære, beliggende med fantastisk udsigt over bugten og fiskerihavnen. Enkelt og spændende indretning.
4 out of 5
by Aly from cardiff

Lovely friendly hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel that is clean with friendly staff. Not luxury but certainly comfortable and perfect for a base. Breakfast by the pool looked super.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Widnes UK

Nice place very reasonably priced

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff and pleasant terrace where breakfast can be taken. The room was very nice but as I have said more suited to a couples.
Cons: A nice bar area would have been welcome.
Location: Cape Town, Simons Town and Kalk Bay harbour, Cape point. Intersting shops and two lovely churches (RC and Anglican). Horse racing at Kenilwoth close.
I stayed here with a cricketing friend for the Newlands test and it was a good for our requirements. The staff were always helpful and couldn't do enough for their guests. However I do think it is more of a couple's place and was always thinking how much my wife and I would have really loved to visit together. There are rooms inside the main building and rooms situated separately, which could be a nuisance due to all the locking and unlocking of doors (though I appreciate it gave greater security). Personally I found the long, long steps up to the hotel the only potential cause for concern, as it was dimly lit and sometimes people hung around at night. Kalk Bay is nice and charming and is a real seaside town with some very good places to eat and it has some fascinating shops (if you like antiques/memorabilia the shops are great to spend time browsing). The train journey either up to Cape Town or down to Simon's Town is very interesting and it was always safe (though I didn't travel on it after dark as per advice). Simon's Town is really beautiful and the beaches along there are stunning.