Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Our stay was pleasant and both staff and owner were very attentive to our needs. The problem was in the descriptions of the location and facilities. Internet was slow and not not available most times Finally the biggest problem we had was with the conditions of reservations stated and later handling of expuda for our request. We called on 13th to change the departure to 15th long distance from South Africa and after 20 Minutes were told all has been taken care off. Again we called on 14 th and found nothing has been updated on the reservation after the owner confirmed that she had not received an email this time I was put on hold for half an hour and the expedia agent came back assuring all is done. Finally on day of check out the owner tells us that expedia is lying and I am liable for remaining three nights When I called again there was no changes made to reservation and when I talked to supervisor he said I am telling now you have to pay This is both unbusisiness like and I wish to lodge a complaint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Louise from Sherbrooke

Life in a small castle

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful getaway in a quiet neighbourhood but remote so that a car is needed , Personnel was diligent to help out The breakfeast is cooked to order and varied
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Oasis of calm

Posted May 3, 2015
We stayed here for 3 nights April 2015 arriving from the UK. Hotel is in a quiet location excellently placed for exploring the Cape. Cape Town is 35 minutes away. Discrete and gracious owners and staff. Very helpful in providing us with touring information, dinner reservations and transport to the cruise terminal. Rooms are tastefully decorated and full of antiques and many thoughtful extras such as range of books, carafe of water, sherry, fresh fruit. We have travelled extensively and always try and book small, independent luxury hotels and Colonna Castle is one of the best we have enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Traumhotel pur in familiärer Atmosphäre

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Ein Gefühl das sich nicht in Worte beschreiben lässt! Man ist einfach nur willkommen dort! Absolut empfehlenswert!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marianne from Gothenburg

You really, really must stay here!

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic ! I travelled with my daughter (10YO) and could not ask for anything else. The attention to detail, the service level, the room and amenities, the dinner served on our night or arrival (with the addition of my daughter's request, even included in the printed menu on her behalf!), absolutely fabulous! My daughter and I were both treated like queens. The room (Green Room) was spacious and well equipped, a glass of sherry waited on arrival, the fridge got stocked up with your favorite items. Enormous bathroom and the most luxurious bath robes I have ever worn. The beds were incredibly comfortable, lovely soft sheets and thick duvets. Heaven! It is worth taking a trip to Cape Town just to stay here! Many, many thanks to Nicole and Michael with their whole fantastic team for a memorable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeanne H from Canada

beautiful and very pleasant

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
An amazing place toy stay. We were warmly greeted by Michael and David took our luggage to the room. It was a beautiful suite with an extra large king bed. The tile floors are heated and the space is done in beautiful Italian tiles. We had a fridge, chocolates on the pillows, every night and a small plate of chocolates every day. A fresh fruit basket was filled daily. The view as well as breakfast was amazing. We had two vanities as well as a shower and deep soaker tub. They also supply robes, slippers and wonderful products for the bathroom. It was very private and quiet. Loved the owners as well as David.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

idéal pour personne seule

Posted Aug 12, 2013
En hiver trop loin du centre du Cap, petit déjeuner un peu léger, manque de viennoiseries fraîches, chambre non chauffée à notre arrivée donc très froide, ne sachant pas que c'était plutôt " chambres d'hôtes ", j'ai été déçue, car je préfère les hôtels.
3 out of 5
by Antoine from Luanda

our kids not feeling welcome

Posted Jan 20, 2013
Pros: eating lychees with silverware for breakfast
Cons: attitude towards kids
We stayed five nights in the Safari suite and the overall feeling is mixed, as we had quite high expectations given the price tag (but it was high season though). Pros: -stunning room decorations and views, -feeling of exclusivity, luxurious and homey treatment of guests, helping with dinner reservations and sightseeing program. -top level room comfort, prepped several times a day. -quiet location away from the city hustle and bustle. on the downside: -the lady owning the hotel looked puzzled when I told her we had 3 young kids. She reminded our kids several times to be quiet when we checked in, and they were not shouting at all. We got the message so we did not use the pool at all during the stay, for fear of upsetting the other customers here (too bad, since we chose this hotel because of its pool in the first place). -we had to wait between 15mn and 40mn to have our coffee and hot chocolate at breakfast, -suite was not ready at 4pm when we arrived. -the Wifi did not work in our suite and the DVD player either. the TV programs could have been better. -the owner ended up charging us extra for our 3rd kid whereas we did not require an extra bed (our twin daughters always sleep in the same bed) and we skipped our last breakfast. As an extra justification for the kid surchage, she also said that Expedia had given us a 20% discount by mistake that we did not deserve. -no private parking despite location requiring a rental car. -our bed seemed a bit too short (190cm)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Haley from London

Beautiful hotel, service could be better

Posted Jan 8, 2013
The Castle is absolutely beautiful and stunningly furnished. The breakfasts each morning were divine. It's nicely located - 5min drive to the beach and 25min drive to the CT city centre, wine regions and other touring spots. For the price the day-to-day service was somewhat poor - the small toiletries in the room on arrival weren't replaced every day, we had to ask for glasses and trays to be removed from the room even after it was made up. In general we often felt we had to do something ourselves as otherwise it seemed a bit of a bother to the woman running the hotel. Overall staff was lovely though, and to a degree this is just what to expect in boutique hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Dallas, TX, USA / Russia

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Colona Castle in a word was Fantastic, it exceed all expectations. Michael and Nicole were incredible hosts, they meet us upon check in, recommended and arranged dinner and sightseeing reservations, provided detailed driving directions and ensured our experience in Cape Town was memorable one. The breakfast included in the rate was a great plus, and the homemade marmalade is not to be missed! The pictures of the room and views on the website do not do justice and all of the personal touches (fresh fruit and brandy upon arrival, turn down service, etc) and friendly staff created a conflicting situation of whether to stay in the b&b or sightsee, lol. The location is just right for easy access to all the major sites and atmosphere is much better than staying in the city centre. If you're looking for an "experience" vs. just a place to sleep, I highly recommend Colona Castle.