Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Namibia

Almost my last ever stay here!!!!!

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Century City - Ratanga, Shopping and very central
I have stayed at this hotel 4 times over the last 6 months. Stayed in Presidential Penthouse. Aircons was not working for the whole 6 days. I felt that this was unacceptable as the room should have been taken out of service until such time as aircon is working. Hotel was fully booked so could not be moved to other rooms. If it wasn't for the friendly staff and the way management handled the problem I would most probably advise not to ever stay at this hotel - BUT I wont give this advise only because of how reception and management dealt with the problem. Housekeeping definitely needs to up they're game. I will stay here again - BUT only if everything works properly this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luanda, Angola

Nice hotel close to the shopping mall, where

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Marvelous!!!!!! Good experience. I had a good time. I will repeat. I will sure recommend the hotel to friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg, South Africa

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Very spacious rooms that are well equipped with a microwave and mini fridge. Beautiful view of Table Mountain. An amazing breakfast was included in our room. A little hard to find, because the GPS did not have the right location. Otherwise it was a perfect stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Kyle D, Hotel Management
Hi Brandon I hope you are well. Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel and write your review - all feedback is discussed in our weekly meetings and our staff and chefs will be commended on their service and food. Next time you are in town, be sure to try our Seafood Platter Special - it's delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel. Keep well and travel safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Fine

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Location is excellent if you are into shopping. Penthouse is spacious. Problem was housekeeping and general attitude towards the finer points that would rate hotel better. Such as stained bed pillows in closet. Never enough towels. Walking in the bedroom without knocking. Otherwise all other staff was excellent. Reception was great and very accommodating, they went out of their way and was very good. Breakfast and room service was great. Overall very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A Real 4 Star + Gem in Cape Town

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Bathroom could be larger.
Location: Perfect location, close to CT central, gym is opposite, Canal walk is next door. Perfect in every way.
Brilliant hotel, stayed here a few times, will definitely continue. Its a proper 4 star hotel - international new school standards. The exec suite is extremely spacious and comfy and brilliant value for money. Good location, views, service, comfort and cleanliness. This is a gem in CT and great value for money for the price. Better than a lot other 5 star posers in CT which cant compare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Kyle D, Hotel Management
Hi Rashin Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our staff thrive on positive feedback, and we try go above and beyond our guests expectations - thank you for the acknowledgements. We are incredibly lucky with our positioning (2 mins walk from Canal Walk, 10 minute drive to Blouberg Beach, 15 minutes to Cape Town CBD and 18 minutes to the airport). I assume you enjoyed some excellent retail therapy at Canal Walk. Our views from our rooms are great, whether you have views of Table Mountain (Executive Suites) or of the majestic Durbanville Hills (Deluxe Suites). Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soonest. Keep well and travel safe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Excellent hotel in nice area

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Almost everything. Great staff and spacious rooms.
Cons: TV channels must be improved.
Location: It's 10 min taxi drive from downtown Cape Town. It is also located near a big shopping mall.
I went to Cape Town not knowing what to expect. I booked a specious deluxe suite that was well-furnished. Very comfortable and clean. The hotel has great food. I urge everyone to take advantage of the breakfast and the lunch buffet. There are also good restaurants next door. I'd love to stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Kyle D, Hotel Management
Hi Rudy What a fantastic review - it is truly appreciated! We are elated you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Our chic interior is well received by our guests, and our staff always try go above and beyond to make our gusts feel at home to ensure a positive, memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit. Keep well, and travel safe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Posted Feb 18, 2015
The hotel doesn't look like the pics on the web.. The stuff didn't try to help us when we wanted to do late check out even though the hotel was empty!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Great value for money, extremely comfortable room

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, large comfortable room, great nights rest!
Cons: gowns and slippers in the rooms, maybe stock the bar fridge up in the rooms. A separate toilet from the shower. The hot water in shower goes cold..
Location: 10 min to Cape Town VNA, the gym is right across and Canal Walk mall 1 min away. brilliant location.
brilliant value for money and an extremely comfortable room. excellent nights rest guaranteed. the staff go all out to please you in every way, always smiling, friendly and helpful. I stayed at many 5 star hotels in Cape Town, this is a definite entry level 5 star. Better than lots of others posing as 5 which ought to be 4 or lower. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Kyle D, Hotel Management
Hi Rashin Thank you once again for writing another fantastic review. We have indeed positioned ourselves as a very upper tier four star hotel and we thank you for comparing us to a five star establishment - a true feather in our cap. In addition, our staff are an absolute asset, and we will always try meet and exceed our guest’s expectations. We have shared your positive feedback with everyone involved and we look forward to welcoming you back for yet another visit. Keep well and travel safe,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One week in paradise (Colosseum Hotel Cape Town)

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: The staff are without doubt the best in Cape Town. The room is large and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing. It is right beside Canal Walk Shopping!
Cons: There is no pool or gym, however there is a health club over the road. Apart from that nothing can be improved, it was just perfect.
Location: Close to Beach, City, Wine valleys and beach, best city we have ever been to. Try hiring a Harley for the day, we had great fun.
An excellent week in Cape Town and the Colosseum Hotel was extremely good, service was outstanding, friendly and very personal, this makes every guest feel special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zambia

Within Shopping Area

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Very courteous and helpful staff. 3-5 minutes walk into the canal walk shopping mall
Cons: Stuffy room. Check carpet cleaning. Didn't like the dim lighting in the long passage leading to the rooms. Feel it must be brighter than that.
Location: 3-5 minutes walk into the canal walk shopping mall.
Stayed 1 night in family room. Room ok though a bit stuffy - It was like the room had not been used for a long time. Bed linen very clean though. Didn't like the dim lighting in the long passage leading to the rooms. Feel it must be brighter than that. Very courteous and helpful staff. 3-5 minutes walk into the canal walk shopping mall.