Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Value + Good Neighbourhood

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Three of us (mother and two adult sons) stayed in one of these apartments in De Waterkant for 5 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartment itself is a great value - we each got our own sizable room and had a nice kitchen with a coveted washer + dryer, dishes, and satellite TV. The neighborhood is great - convenient to the city, very colorful, and it tends to be safe since it's somewhat of the gay neighborhood and up a hill from the CBD hustle. However, make sure to not walk alone after dark. There are sketchy characters looming about all over the city at night and we know of a number of people who were mugged. We recommend The Village Cafe for breakfast and coffee; they have free wifi. Also, Manhattan Bar is a great place to get drinks in the evening. It's a welcoming gay bar with a mixed crowd. If you want groceries, Spar is just down the street. The two disadvantages of this unit are: 1) No wifi in the unit (though it's free in The Charles Guesthouse, where you check in and available in neighborhood cafes and restaurants) 2) We could only get two separate keys even though there were three of us, so we had to make arrangements to get into the unit if we split up. Overall, highly recommended. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff and well equipped accommodation.
Cons: double beds are too narrow!
Location: Very central and easy access to museums, Waterfront, downtown and walking distance to tour bus station and car hire.
Ideal location for getting to many places on foot. Fabulous, attractive area close to cafes, restaurants supermarkets etc. Real feeling of a village within a city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ruhiges und zentral gelegenes Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Ausstattung des Apartments: komplett ausgestatten Küche, gemütlichen Sitzecke, Fernseher, kompletten Musikanlage, DVD-Player und oben der Pool - Super
Cons: Wifi im Apartment, war nur im office
Location: Waterman street - zu fuss: 10 min. zur long street (disco, pubs, red-bus-station, 20 min. Zur waterkant mall, 300m zum supermarkt (kl. einkaufszentrum
Ideal gelegen für unternehmungen: ob waterkant mit vik. und Alfred mall, clock tower, Hafen um nach robben island zu kommen, aquarium, rugby-museum, long street mit beere house, mama Africa, Discos, Oder der red-bus-station um rundfahrten zu unternehmen zum table mountain, botanischen garden in kirstenbosch, einer sehr gemütlichen weinprobe in constantia, hout bay zu den seals und am abend zum sunset. Weitere empfehlungen: einen besuch im mount nelson hotel zur tea-time (anmeldung / reservierung erforderlich), sowie ein besuch im steakhouse von nelson's eye - geheimtip. Weitere unternehmungen: Cape rundfahrt zum cap der guten hoffnung, Cape of good hope, boulders beach zu den cape-pinguinen. Camps bay, die 12 apostel, chapmans peak und noch vieles mehr. Cape Town in South Africa ist einfach klasse und für Alle eine reise wert, die man nie bereuen würde. Ich wünsche Allen viel spass in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Superb Location & Charming/Beautiful Architecture

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Dutch colonial style one bedroom house/apartment. Felt like being a local, and a great location.
Cons: Bathroom products for duration of stay, not just the courtesy pack they give at check-in.
Location: V&A Waterfront is an easy walk or cheap taxi, and just 4 blocks from downtown/attractions. Lots of nightlife for gay and straight scene.
This is an apartment-style stay in the beautiful De Waterkant Village area, smack in the middle of everything. Table Mountain and water views from the rooftop terrace. Everything is within walking or quick taxi, and the area brims with nightlife. Of course it's not a full service hotel, but staying at these properties will give you a real local experience, and the place was comfortably furnished like a local home, if not a posh hotel. I really liked it! Special kudos to the lovely reception staff, who were super friendly and helpful with questions and such. You will need soap and shampoo, as they only give you one set of hotel size bathroom products, but you can pick those up at the Spar supermarket, just a short block away (Spar is a charming supermarket, and has all kinds of other foods and goodies that you might want as well, and the shopping complex its in has other coffee shops, wine shops, restaurants, etc). As always, mind your belongings at night, especially on the block with the gas station, which is 2 blocks away....but that's just something to be aware of anywhere you might be staying in the city. Wifi available in apartments/houses for small fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by J from JHB

Convenient location

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
Great location and space, water pressure in bathroom could be improved.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alhajry from Saudi Arabia

Rooms are so apart from each other

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
I checked-in at night the street was dark,the man patrolling the street came to Us and say if you leave any thing I mean any thing in the car your car window will be broken. There were two rooms Inside the two storey apartment one in each level they are so apart from each other the staircase was a small Metal loop type at the other end. I have my kids with me I couldn't stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Solo traveller from Toronto

More than I expected

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Cons: A little funky under the sink in the kitchen.
Location: It was a safe, patrolled neighbourhood. Could walk into downtown. More nervous about walking to the V&A but that was a short taxi ride away.
I booked at de Waterkant Village rather late after hemming and hawing about prices and locations in Cape Town. I'm glad I landed on it. I expected a small studio, or a hotel room with a kitchenette. Instead I got a two floor flat/townhouse with a decent sized kitchenette, living room and walk out patio on the ground floor and an open plan king bedroom and bathroom with shower and separate soaker tub on the upper floor. The bedroom/bathroom combo would have been more than sufficient as a hotel room. The place was in pretty good nick. Good design in the bed/bath. The kitchen was basic but serviceable and more than met my needs. Included an iron and ironing board which was much more than I got at a "full service" hotel outside of Cape Town I was at for a conference earlier in the week. Overall it wasn't a high finish but it was cute, serviceable and clean. I was a little underwhelmed by the welcome from staff when I checked in in the evening. Things improved on subsequent visits to the office for internet vouchers or questions about trips to the airport. It is a little noisy in the evening with a popular bar close by. Nothing earplugs didn't solve. There were a number of good restaurants in the area so not too many cab rides were required. Also, a good grocery store in the nearby shopping mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian from London

Solid option

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels
Huge apartments in a very vibey area of Cape Town.Well worth a further visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mercedes from buenos aires

casita

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels
En lugar de habitacion, nos dieron una casita de 2 pisos q daba a la calle. Muy comoda, con cocina completa.