Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay at the DerwentHouse

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Very cosy guest house with a lot of charm, and a lot of natural light, making the space very relaxing. The staff was absolutely fabulous, particularly, Vuyo, Luca and Willem! Location couldn't be any better, removed from the tourist center yet close enough to walk down kloof street to key point of interest. Highly recommend this DerwentHouse!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Lovely boutique hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and great location next to Kloof Street. Very bespoke feel and service. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by DerwentGM, Hotel Management
Dear Marc, On behalf of the whole team, thanks so much for your kind feedback. We really enjoyed having you with us -- and Florence still smiles about it taking both of you to finish her omelette! We are continually striving to improve, so please come back soon and we promise you an even better Derwent House experience next time. We will also promise to get you into the Black Sheep! Many thanks again, Luca and the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea - Wales

An excellent boutique hotel close to Table mountai

Posted Feb 12, 2017
A well kept hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Close to local bars and restaurants but situated in a quiet street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Derwent Owners, Hotel Management
Dear Phil, Thank you so much for taking the time give share your feedback with other travellers -- and indeed with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our great team and fortuitous address. Please come back soon! Anahid, Luca and the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lovely Guesthouse lodging near great restaurants.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The location was beautiful- overlooks Table Mountain and near Kloof Street with some great restaurants. It has a warm and inviting seating area in the living room where you can sip a complimentary sherry or cup of tea with dessert in the evening. They do offer other beverages (wines & sodas) for a small fee. The staff was very helpful ensuring your stay was entirely pleasant. The room sizes differ depending on the location within the property ( I recommend Room #1 with its terrace overlooking the majestic Table Mtn.) -sizes are smaller compared to other properties I've stayed in, however the rooms were impeccably clean and comfy. The property does offer a lovely cold & warm full breakfast. There is an pool in the rear of the property and outdoor seating for eating and sunbathing. It is a very homey feeling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Derwentowners, Hotel Management
Many thanks, Richard, for taking the time to share your experience with other guests -- and indeed, with us. Much appreciated! Please come back soon, Anahid, Luca and the team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel with great service!

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great service from time of booking till our last day. Our stay was too short and we wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous small boutique hotel, charming and intimate. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to help. Will be returning again to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your generous feedback, Margit -- we loved hosting you and are delighted that you felt at home. Indeed, our team makes Derwent House what it is. We are so proud of them, and feedback like your's means the world to them. Please come back soon! Anahid, Armin, Luca, Vuyo and the entire Derwent team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic stay

Posted Nov 23, 2016
An all around wonderful experience. From the beautiful room to the very kind and attentive staff to the scrumptious breakfast. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely loved it!

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
We are so pleased we booked Derwent House for our 4 nights in Cape Town. It was in a great location to get around. The staff were so friendly and helpful - felt very at home! The breakfasts were delicious with great variety and a daily special. There was a very well stocked honesty bar and complimentary afternoon cakes. The room was very comfortable, the pool area very relaxing and the house decor was fantastic! We would definitely recommend and go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
This small boutique hotel is excellent, friendly staff who are ready to help, give advice, call taxis, book restaurants, good breakfast serving continental and cooked. There is a small pool and jacuzzi with sitting area. Short walk to a variety of popular local restaurants, short taxi ride to centre of Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels