Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Excellent stay. Very personalized service. Staff is exceptional and goes above and beyond. Beautiful rooms in a historic home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel, right next to waterfront,

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Great service, friendly staff even with our toddler in tow, perfect location & amazing breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, personal and conveniently located.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: Welcome / reception. It's a little unclear when you arrive and there is no reception or staff to greet you.
A lovely hotel, with a personal feel. Feels like a home away from home. Comfortable and luxurious without being extravagant. LARGE rooms with beautiful views over the waterfront. Delicious food! A delectable menu with some inspired local tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved this hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Breakfast!! Ambience.
Cons: Angle of aircon
Location: Right beside waterfront
Excellent breakfast, great hotel, excellent staff. Safe location. Aircon slightly noisy / angle of attack slightly obtrusive. Overall great place to stay would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Nice but not the best

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The location is great and the fact it is a boutique hotel the experience is very personal and you are not rushed in the slightest.
Cons: It is a lovely hotel I just think the way it is billed it could lead to people feeling that it hasn't quite delivered.
Location: You are right on the waterfront so ideally placed for all the various bars and restaurants.
We chose to stay at the Dock House for the one night we were in Cape Town as it was my birthday and we thought we'd treat ourselves. The house is very comfortable but the rooms are actually suites with a separate sitting room. If you were like us and have travelled in on the overnight flight for the very reason you can drop your bags off and explore Cape Town itches room rate could be considered excessive. Lovely ambience, ideal location and staff incredibly friendly but not the blow away experience I was expecting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicia from Fort Laudierdalle

This hotel had change mycstandard of excellence

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Ones you get settle, you feel like you have arrived at your rich uncle's house that has give you Justine (the manager) and Peter our guardian Angel, to make you feel at heaven because everything is been taken care off. Everything is perfect !!! It is a treat that everybody should have, at least once in a life time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by An Artist from Chicago

Attentive staff and well cared for historic site

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The charm, the small size, the friendly helpful staff and the attention to detail are what I will remember most.
Cons: There is no elevator so it would be difficult for older couples but it is only a two story property so it is no problem for most people.
Location: It is a minute from the ferris wheel at the V&A harbor so there is lots of restaurants and shops and very close to the Aquarium.
The building is the former harbour master's residence. It is close to but overlooks the V&A Harbour. The staff clearly love the boutique hotel and are very attentive to the needs of their guests. Welcoming fruit and champagne and a nightly baked treat at bedside are examples. Breakfasts were served in the dining room by efficient friendly staff. The inside is state of the art modern without spoiling the charm of the hotel. If you get a balcony you can enjoy the sea breeze but the back garden is relaxing day or night. I would definitely recommend it to friends and stay there next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by fuzzmeister from england

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
I cannot recommend The Dock House enough. Fantastic and personal service and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are marvellous (would suggest you try to get 505 or 504 which have balconies) and more than equal to any 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Swansea

Relaxed Atmosphere in Centre of City

Posted Feb 3, 2014
From the moment we arrived this hotel proved to be something special. Wonderful staff who are friendly and attentive. The room was excellent with a large balcony from which we had a great view of the waterfront. The gardens and pool are tranquil despite the close proximity of the waterfront shops and restaurants. I have stayed in other 5 star hotels in Cape Town but this was the best for me
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andy & Duds from Sydney

Boutique gem at V&A waterfront

Posted Jun 6, 2013
This gem of a boutique hotel exceeded our expectations in every way.The location is fantastic - perched just above the V&A waterfront with a private gate off the back lawn leading directly to the centre of the waterfront action. The staff were relaxed and friendly, and couldnt do enough for us in terms of booking drivers for day trips, suggesting and booking restaurants, and giving advice on different wineries / sights. Kelly, in particular, was an angel. The rooms are, quite simply, MASSIVE. Beautifully appointed, clearly only just renovated, and with a homely touch that is still very chic. The bathroom was almost as big as the room, with the biggest bath I've soaked in in a long time, huge separate shower with marble feature wall, double basin sink and great range of local products. The room we had, #5 upstrais, opened on to a private balcony with great views over the waterfront and the ocean behind that. A la carte breakfast was downstairs in a lovely intimate dining room, with fresh fruit and pastries and a good selection of hot mains. We stayed 4 nights, and when we come back to Cape Town wouldnt stay anywhere else. Thanks again Kelly and the team.