Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rwanda

Excellent Beach Front Cabana

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beach walks to waterfront restaurants to the north at Blouberg or south at Milnerton. Lots of tour companies to get you out to explore
Excellent stay in a beach front cabana that provides great access to beach dunes and long walks on the pristine South Atlantic sands. Our room is also just a 2 minute walk to the Blowfish Restaurant where morning breakfasts were served and which serves amazing seafood in the evening - services is great and the food excellent. Helpful friendly staff at the front desk, at check-in and when we were leaving.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel changed my reservations from Cabana to room

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Poor management changed my reservations to less expensive never happened before this incidents
4 out of 5
by Matt

Great beach location, but rooms need upgrading

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are large and spacious, with separate dining/living area and bedroom. We had a huge bathroom too. They need modernising however, everything looks worn and dated (especially the bathroom). The pool is small and not suitable for young children - it had no shallow end and is 1.2m deep. There is only room for 2 chairs/sun loungers at each side of the pool. Given the size of the complex, this seemed very strange. The massive plus however is the location on the beach - our son loved playing in the sand dunes and we loved watching the Kite Surfers and the views of Table Mountain and central Cape Town in the distance. It is right on the beach. We would stay again for the beach location alone, the hotel room needing updating is the compromise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing hotel unfortunately

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The whole facility, but luckily a renovation is on its way in May.
Location: A seaview would have been nice as advertised on the website for the cabanas.....but at least you were close to the beach.
The staff was great and it was good to hear that they are renovating May 2017. The cabanas didnt have a sea view as advertised, but you could see Table mountain. The rooms also do not have a view and the main bedroom is at the neighbors door and we were woken both nights when the neighbors got home at midnight. The food was also disappointing. The breakfast was unfortunately below standard, didnt even have a choice of eggs, scrambled had to do. The breakfast was the same every day. The Blowfish restaurant was pricey too. The staff tried and they were the highlight of our stay. They also just had a small swimming pool, with no view and place to sit. I hope they have new plans for that with the renovation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, great view

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, wifi strength a problem in room, better in reception and restaurant Beautiful view of Table Mountain
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was great throughout our stay. We even got a chance to meet the owner of Dolphin Beach Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views but needs an update

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: View, price and location
Cons: WIFI
Location: Cape Town - what more can i say
Great views but the rooms are a bit old fashioned, clean but need an update
3 out of 5
by Duncan from Sandton

Lovely, but a bit old.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is really nice but it is rather old and the rooms need refurbishing. Also, there was loads of long black hairs in the room presumably from the guest before me as well as a big clump of hair in the bathroom cupboard. 24 hour room service would be appreciated for business trips. Additionally, when more towels were required, I dialed all the available numbers and no answer. I had to go to reception twice to get towels and thus was late for my evening plans. The location is superb and the views are pretty special. The hotel however is not cheap and the rooms need to reflect the rate in terms of cleanliness and newer finishings.
5 out of 5
by Greg from Pretoria

The undisputed regular stopover

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Always a recommended place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel outside of downtown

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I do love the fact that the hotel was right by the beach. I have 3 boys and they loved being able to run along the beach. The only downside was the distance to get into downtown or to table mountain. However, the hotel was great and had a great breakfast and wonderful restaurant for dinner!