Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Well priced functional hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location, and staff
Cons: Bar, restaurant and rooms need modernising
Location: Good lively bars and well priced resturants
Hotel has good location to financial district and a short taxi ride to the Waterfront Bars and Resturants. The hotel restaurant is basic and the bar lacks some character. Rooms are basic and tired and are in need of a upgrade. Bathrooms were dirty and toiletries were poor. Shelf in shower missing. However, hotel staff were very friendly and helping. Good make over and hotel will be great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

nice hotel but needs improvement

Posted Nov 18, 2016
the room they gave me was nice, with a great view of Table Mountain. the breakfast was good also. there is access to a gym with limited facilities but still quite ok. however the bathroom was very small. and the window in the bathroom had no curtain or any protection against the sun during the day. there were also things missing like the bathtub plug/stopper which took more than an hour to request. and one of the elevators is not working well and I was always worried I might get trapped. most of the staff, with the exception of housekeeping were very helpful and friendly. housekeeping kept barging into my room to clean or to see if I was checking out. if I hadn't put the bar on the door they could have gone right in. not good
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Chane Achterbergh , Hotel Management
Dear Noah Thank you for writing us a review. I do agree that our breakfast is quite delicious and your kind comments regarding the staff will be shared with the team for their motivation and consideration. Regarding your other concerns I can assure you that they have been taken to heart and corrective measures has been actioned. Kind Regards Chane Achterbergh Sales and Marketing coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Heart of the City

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: This hotel is right next to several important connecting points in the city: the bus and train stations, St George's Mall, and the Company's Garden.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above.
Booking was easy, rates were attractive, and the room was very well-appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Chane Achterbergh , Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I do agree that the Fountains Hotel is in the perfect location for any urban traveler. Your kind comments will be shared with our team for their consideration and motivation. We hope to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel soon. Kind Regards Chane Achterbergh Sales and Marketing coordinator.
2 out of 5
by GILBERT

Not a nice first time in CT

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Felt like bring cheated. The room I booked is not what I got. I got a very noisy backroom with a view into the backyard gutter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016
The hotel is under renovation. The pool and workout facilities were only available if you took a cab to a sister hotel. Staff was excellent. Food was mediocre.
3 out of 5
by Kholekile from Room Cleaniness

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
I was not impress with cleanliness there running cockroaches next to my bed.My room was not tidied a day Before I check out.I have put a sign that it needs to be tied.My sheets were not changed
4 out of 5
by Richard from Sandbaai, Hermanus

Helpful staff

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Was there just on a short business trip, so had very little chance for anything else. Air conditioner not functioning very well otherwise the room was in very good condition. Location was excellent for the business that we had to do. Staff very friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by Anu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Ronald C.

Am not happy at all

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on HotelClub
the most terrible hotel i've ever been to.the wifi is bad,the location,infact the hotel is horrible to me,but i don't know about others
1 out of 5
by Lerato from Johannesburg

Do not book here

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
I hated every minute of my stay. the hotel was nothing like in the pics online. it was old, musky & the carpets in the room were filthy!!!!