Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Well priced functional hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location, and staff
Cons: Bar, restaurant and rooms need modernising
Location: Good lively bars and well priced resturants
Hotel has good location to financial district and a short taxi ride to the Waterfront Bars and Resturants. The hotel restaurant is basic and the bar lacks some character. Rooms are basic and tired and are in need of a upgrade. Bathrooms were dirty and toiletries were poor. Shelf in shower missing. However, hotel staff were very friendly and helping. Good make over and hotel will be great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

nice hotel but needs improvement

Posted Nov 18, 2016
the room they gave me was nice, with a great view of Table Mountain. the breakfast was good also. there is access to a gym with limited facilities but still quite ok. however the bathroom was very small. and the window in the bathroom had no curtain or any protection against the sun during the day. there were also things missing like the bathtub plug/stopper which took more than an hour to request. and one of the elevators is not working well and I was always worried I might get trapped. most of the staff, with the exception of housekeeping were very helpful and friendly. housekeeping kept barging into my room to clean or to see if I was checking out. if I hadn't put the bar on the door they could have gone right in. not good
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Chane Achterbergh , Hotel Management
Dear Noah Thank you for writing us a review. I do agree that our breakfast is quite delicious and your kind comments regarding the staff will be shared with the team for their motivation and consideration. Regarding your other concerns I can assure you that they have been taken to heart and corrective measures has been actioned. Kind Regards Chane Achterbergh Sales and Marketing coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Heart of the City

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: This hotel is right next to several important connecting points in the city: the bus and train stations, St George's Mall, and the Company's Garden.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above.
Booking was easy, rates were attractive, and the room was very well-appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Chane Achterbergh , Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I do agree that the Fountains Hotel is in the perfect location for any urban traveler. Your kind comments will be shared with our team for their consideration and motivation. We hope to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel soon. Kind Regards Chane Achterbergh Sales and Marketing coordinator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016
The hotel is under renovation. The pool and workout facilities were only available if you took a cab to a sister hotel. Staff was excellent. Food was mediocre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mick from Perth

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Nice Hotel close to most Attractions.Not far to VA waterfront shops and resturants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire.

"Would love to go back"

Posted Dec 3, 2010
Brilliant location for all Cape Town has to offer, the staff could not have been more helpful. We used bars and restaruants around the hotel even at night and had no problems but we were a party of six.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol, United Kingdom

best hotel in cape town

Posted Sep 20, 2010
A city centre hotel, outstanding views, if you get a room with a view! 10 Minute walk from the V & A Waterfront & Green Square Market. Main reasons for staying at this hotel were the staff, friendly, nothing to much trouble, and they would spend time with you and make conversation. Sometimes a little noisy due to rush hour traffic, but this is dependant on room, and hussle & bussle of South Africa. Hotel is bright, modern & airy, and very clean. Food is buffet breakfast with a large selection of hot & cold food, also do a buffet service at night but at an extra charge, which is just as extensive as the breakfast and of good quality. For the price this is by far and away the best hotel experience in Cape Town (we've tried a few!). One thing to note they charge for car parking per night, which wasn't shown on the website or explained at check in. But parking is secure with a car guard day & night. Over all a fantactic base for a Cape Town holiday. 9.5 out of 10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Good option for a good price

Posted Jun 17, 2009
I booked through Expedia for a very good price (winter promotion for stays longer than 3 days). The hotel is nice, the included breakfast buffet is very good, and the personnel is extremely solicitous. The only "but" is its location in the city centre, which is not very safe at night (but this applies to all hotels in the area). Taxis can take you anywhere and attractions are not too far.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monteforte Irpino

buona posizione ma gli darei una stella in meno

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: La posizione centrale.
Cons: Dovrebbe essere rimodernato, il personale più sorridente
Location: Ottima posizione, stazione dei treni e del bus difronte, a pochi minuti il castello, long street, un teatro......
Ottima posizione, appena di fronte alla fermata autobus adderley . Per la pulizia, in camera ho trovato un cacaraccio, mancavano le lenzuola, su 4 ascensori ne funzionavano 2 e quando arrivavano bus con nuovi clienti bisognava aspettare mezz'ora! Il Wi-Fi era intermittente, un receptionista era molto scontroso. Le foto fanno sembrare un hotel nuovo. Le porte delle camere rumorose e sbattevano continuamente .La sera bisogna prendere il taxi, perché zona scura e deserta, specie la piazza al fianco di s. George mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wismar

Günstiges Hotel mit mäßigem Service und Komfort in zentraler Lage

Posted Jan 5, 2010
+ zentrale lage + guter Preis - schlechter service - schmuddelig - es gibt zimmer mit blick in einen schacht, furchtbar!