Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

New Scenery after two weeks at Sea Point,CapeTown

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Staff and friendly guests from all over the world. A very relaxed place to stay with our bedrooms and baths immaculate. Very Quiet.
Cons: I like it the way it is. Old fashioned and wonderful.
Location: We walked everywhere as it is in the middle of town and close to everything. We only used the car to drive to Franschoek and the wine country.
My daughter and I had to get out of our Condo in CapeTown but could not get a reservation back to Denver, CO for a couple of days as it was the end of Thanksgiving week. We decided to go to Stellenbasch and spend a couple days traveling around the area of the Wine Country. The Guest House was ideal for what we wanted to do which was relax, be able to walk most everywhere, have a swimming pool to rest and enjoy the warmth of being below the Equator in addition to doing a little wine tasting. A delightful and quaint place to stay and the rooms were spotless even with the age of the Guest House. The breakfasts were the best we had on the entire trip especially in terms of quality. They fixed what ever one would want to eat in addition to other cultural breakfast items daily. I can't say enough about the staff and personal. They were friendly and helpful in a very genuine way. They have a room with a shower for those that have late flights and a place to leave the luggage. As our flight was a very late one we spent the time walking around the town, picking up a few pieces of jewelry,( for memories) lunch and people watching for a couple of hours. A delightful place to stay and reminded me of staying in Guest Houses in London in the 60's. I would definitely return to stay at the Fynbos Villa again if in the area. Attracts such friendly guests! s our flight was a late one in CapeTown so we hung around Stellenbasch walked around, had lunch and picked up a few souvenirs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Lien, Hotel Management
Dear Ms Janet, thank you very much for your detailed feedback. You and your daughter surely enjoyed Stellenbosch and our Villa. Much appreciation from all of us. Kind regards, Fynbos Personnel and Owners
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McLaren vale

Close to the centre

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay and interesting colonial setting, very convenient to town centre.
5 out of 5
by Marco from Springs

Great value and service

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
The venue is a little treasure and the staff are really friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Marco Thank you for you short and sweet review. Kind regards, Fynbos Personnel and Owners
4 out of 5
by Yolande from Pretoria

I liked Fynbos.

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely breakfasts,friendly service.Unfortunately I was robbed of my I-pad in the alley opposite Bird Cage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Yolande Thank you for your precious feedback. Sorry to hear you were robbed near the Bird Cage Restaurant which is 500m from Fynbos Villa. Better not to carry it openly for anyone to see! Regards, Fynbos Personnel and Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Warm hospitality and awesome experience

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Staff were all friendly, helpful and warm. Room was cosy and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast and TV channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Fynbos Owners, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Jing-Kai All Fynbossers appreciate your smart 5 out of 5 review . Thank you! Regards Fynbos Personnel & Owners
5 out of 5
by Calvin from Bethesda

Top Notch Guest House

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is an excellent facility with a very comfortable room, convenient location, and superb breakfast. We could not have done any better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Calvin Thank you for your feedback, we constantly strive to exceed expectations. We thank you for choosing us as your trusted host during your visit to Stellenbosch and hope to see you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the heart of Stellenbosch

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Fynbos Owners, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler Thank you for your excellent feedback. Regards Fynbos Personnel & Owners
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Just okay

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, breakfast was good, staff were pleasant. But the room itself was unappealing with grungy looking carpet and velour upholstery looked stained. It was a sitting room converted to a bedroom, with many empty bookshelves. Strange ambiance. With the ample choice of places to stay, I would try somewhere else next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2016 by Gerrit, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we had a company clean the furniture and the carpet. We are sorry to hear the Victorian style furnishings were not what you expected. We do try and advertise with as many photos as possible. We will try and be more descriptive on the room layout and furnishings to avoid any disappointment.