Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

New Scenery after two weeks at Sea Point,CapeTown

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Staff and friendly guests from all over the world. A very relaxed place to stay with our bedrooms and baths immaculate. Very Quiet.
Cons: I like it the way it is. Old fashioned and wonderful.
Location: We walked everywhere as it is in the middle of town and close to everything. We only used the car to drive to Franschoek and the wine country.
My daughter and I had to get out of our Condo in CapeTown but could not get a reservation back to Denver, CO for a couple of days as it was the end of Thanksgiving week. We decided to go to Stellenbasch and spend a couple days traveling around the area of the Wine Country. The Guest House was ideal for what we wanted to do which was relax, be able to walk most everywhere, have a swimming pool to rest and enjoy the warmth of being below the Equator in addition to doing a little wine tasting. A delightful and quaint place to stay and the rooms were spotless even with the age of the Guest House. The breakfasts were the best we had on the entire trip especially in terms of quality. They fixed what ever one would want to eat in addition to other cultural breakfast items daily. I can't say enough about the staff and personal. They were friendly and helpful in a very genuine way. They have a room with a shower for those that have late flights and a place to leave the luggage. As our flight was a very late one we spent the time walking around the town, picking up a few pieces of jewelry,( for memories) lunch and people watching for a couple of hours. A delightful place to stay and reminded me of staying in Guest Houses in London in the 60's. I would definitely return to stay at the Fynbos Villa again if in the area. Attracts such friendly guests! s our flight was a late one in CapeTown so we hung around Stellenbasch walked around, had lunch and picked up a few souvenirs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Warm hospitality and awesome experience

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Staff were all friendly, helpful and warm. Room was cosy and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast and TV channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Fynbos Owners, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Jing-Kai All Fynbossers appreciate your smart 5 out of 5 review . Thank you! Regards Fynbos Personnel & Owners
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Just okay

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, breakfast was good, staff were pleasant. But the room itself was unappealing with grungy looking carpet and velour upholstery looked stained. It was a sitting room converted to a bedroom, with many empty bookshelves. Strange ambiance. With the ample choice of places to stay, I would try somewhere else next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2016 by Gerrit, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we had a company clean the furniture and the carpet. We are sorry to hear the Victorian style furnishings were not what you expected. We do try and advertise with as many photos as possible. We will try and be more descriptive on the room layout and furnishings to avoid any disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Good for wine tours

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, swimming pool, BBQ and breakfast.
Location: Wine tours Plenty of local restaurants
Good B and B with friendly helpful staff, full breakfast and good amenities. Close to Main Street and restaurants for evening meal. Swimming pool and BBQ but need to provide your own paper plates and plastic cups, we used this for a lazy Sunday and loved it. Not too far from Cape Town airport but queues on motorway on a morning (leave plenty of time). Over a hundred wine farms in the region, tours easily arranged. Secure complex with gates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Fynbos Owners, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Beanie from England Thank you for your info about your Fynbos enjoyable lazy day and short trip back to Cape Town Airport. We appreciate your feedback. Regards Fynbos Personnel & Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from dubai

Weekend winter wedding visit

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Location and value for money
Cons: Quality of breakfast and choice
Beautiful area. The guest house is very well located in the centre of town. Very relaxed classic guest house, with professional friendly staff in particular the breakfast staff. Room was a little tired and cold. Good value for money and great location for anyone looking to visit the beautiful wine reserves of the region.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming old guest house

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The staff had a bottle of wine, chocolates and a bunch of roses for our honeymoon which was very nice. They booked us a wine tour and very very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arik from USA

Superb guest house in beautiful Stellenbosch

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Very well maintained villa with very helpful staff on excellent location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Leuk hotel dichtbij het centrum!

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Prima nostalgisch hotelletje, niet ver van het centrum van Stellenbosch, goed ontbijt, prima parkeermogelijkheden op eigen terrein! Centrum met prima restaurants op loopafstand.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Tanja, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad to hear you had a memorable stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Küchenpersonal
Cons: Sauberkeit
Küchenpersonal sehr freundlich und aufmerksam. Sonstiges Personal nicht vorhanden. Absolut anonym. Zimmer sehr dreckig und heruntergekommen und hellhörig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from stuttgart

Nettes b&b für kurzen Aufenthalt

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Frühstück im Hof in der Sonne
Location: In der Nähe des Zentrums, zu Fuss kann man zu den Restauants und Kneipen laufen
Familiycottage für uns allein mit 2 Zimmern, elternschlafzimmer etwas klein jnd eng, gute Ausstattung mit Wassserkocher, Kühlschrank, Fön. Sehr hohe Sicherheitsvorkehrungen mit elektrischem Tor und vergittertem Hauseingang und Fenstern. Mutet etwas befremdlich an.