Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The location is great. Staff was really nice. Breakfast good. Bed comfy. I did have a few minor issues....barrier in shower leaked on floor having me clean up a lot of water, there was an in hotel function taking place below my room which was really noisy, and the amount of Internet provided complimentary is so negligible that I don't think they should mention free internet. All in all, it was still a nice stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

A well appointed hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Excellent location downtown. Only a few blocks to tour bus station, market square, lots of restaurants and shops, as well as convention center.
I stayed at the Grand Daddy Hotel while attending an international conference in Capetown. I chose this hotel primarily because it was least expensive hotel/airfare combo available on Expedia at the time. With little in the way of expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised by the appointments of the room I was given, the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (who went out to find me a toothbrush and toothpaste as my luggage was late). The elevator, which was claimed to be the oldest in Capetown was functional as well as historic. The staff at the attached restaurant was equally friendly and helpful, and the menu was tasty and reasonably priced. Just the think after a long day at the conference center (well within walking distance along a main Capetown street) when jet lag argued against going out for a bite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Marcellin from Madagascar

Inoubliable

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
un 40eme anniversaire célébré avec mes amis de part le monde, nous y avions 8 chambres. Emplacement parfait de l hotel et son cachet. Bar terrasse avec ses roulottes tellement unique. Un personnel attentionné et serviable sans en rajouter. découvrir cet hotel C est comprendre ce qui anime Cape Town entre la conservation de son passé et un côté branché qui s annonce.
4 out of 5
by C R from Texas, USA

Not sure if we will stay again, due to noise level

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
No view from room 307 but a concrete office building. Could hear street noises, rooftop bar until it shutdown at 9pm and everyone in the hall. Super disappointed beacuse we had been waiting months to enjoy the sugar daddy suite but were moved due to remodeling from water leak. I understand this was out of their control, but no perks, comps or even a free drink for such a let down. The room they stuck us in was not even comparable. Then they acted like they were doing us a favor by charging us the proper lower price for the cheaper room instead the more costly suite price that was being remodeled.
5 out of 5
by Belinda

Amazing little treasure!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
What can I say. Airstream on the top of Long street, in Cape Town. If you are over hotel rooms, THIS is epic!
5 out of 5
by Maxim from London

another great stay at Grand Daddy

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Always great to stay at Grand Daddy. Beautifully designed, friendly staff, and a happening place throughout the day and in the evenings. One and only request - please add MNET channel as listed in the TV guide. Not a must for me, but my colleague really missed it.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from CH

Schmuckstück ohne viel Herz

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Stadthotel in Downtown für alle die das pulsierende Leben mögen. Mit Ausnahmen lässt die Freundlichkeit zu wünschen übrig. Standard Zimmer werden als "zur Strasse" angeboten. In Warheit haben diese das Fenster zu einem kleinen Luftschacht. Absolutes No go. Dank beherztem Engagement der Mitarbeiterin von Hotel.com gabs ein Upgrade. Fazit. Schönes Hotel, tolles Zimmer jedoch bei der zuvorkommenden Gästebetreuung haben die meisten Mitarbeiter bis hin zur GM noch einiges zu lernen.
3 out of 5
by Ronald E

Coop place

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was great..staff was very nice and accommodating.. Did have problem trying to make calls from my room ...
4 out of 5
by joy from Johannesburg

Best service ever

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly staff service out of this world never experienced such good service before at all hotels I've been too at the bar,breakfast hall and room service.Keep it up Grand Daddy Hotel