Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburbs

We really liked this hotel but....

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We accidentally booked the rooftop airstream suite which was too small for us. (We are big people with big suitcases). Unfortunately we couldn't move rooms since the hotel was fully booked. Staff was very kind in helping us receive a refund and book a room at another Expedia hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very Unique & Excellent Staff

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: I love the restaurant and the bar staff. The roof top is the perfect ambiance.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like is that my airstream Trailer never had any tea or coffee, but there was a hot water pot. Housekeeping never replaced glasses the and trailer needed to be cleaner. The floors were dirty.
Location: Excellent location near the Hop on Hop buses, green market, Sandton mall and shops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from as

Quirky, an experience not to be missed

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: We'll located. Don't miss the slave church museum next door or the preserved mansion museum just round the corner.
Let's face it, it's a converted caravan, so there's not a lot of space, or soundproofing, and the bathroom is a little cramped, but it's a vintage Airstream van perched on the roof of a nicely renovated old school hotel, and set beside a rooftop bar and cinema. If that doesn't turn you off, you'll love it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pumpherston

Its the (Grand) Daddy !

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Just the whole experience - staff so helpful and nice , rooms clean comfortable and serviced daily - with little added touches to make things nice.
Cons: Nothing !
Location: Very central, Long St is very happening - bars, food, music - close to transport and market. Excellent
Brilliant hotel - great atmosphere, staff, value and location. Real charm about it - rooftop bar a treat - go to the movie night ! - breakfasts real good and evening meals in the restaurant too. Right at the bottom of Long St and all that happens there - close to HOHO tour bus, public transport. Very safe and comfortable. A real gem - stay here !!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norge

Fantastisk mat på hotelrestauranten!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Her var det svært vennlig betjening, og meget god service. Maten som serveres på hotellets egne restaurant var i en klasse for seg.
Cons: Rommet var rent og pent, men lite og litt klaustrofobisk. Trangt rundt senga.
Location: Midt i byen, og et godt utgangspunkt for de fleste severdigheter som Tablemountain, Waterfront og andre ting som hører Cape Town til.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Kind staff, clean room,

Posted Oct 3, 2016
We enjoyed our week stay in Cape Town. The room was clean. Our room's window faced into an exterior ventilation space. We selected that for the cheaper price. The restaurant had good food and service. The location was central to many museums, banks, restaurants, stores and the hop on hop off buses. I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The location is great. Staff was really nice. Breakfast good. Bed comfy. I did have a few minor issues....barrier in shower leaked on floor having me clean up a lot of water, there was an in hotel function taking place below my room which was really noisy, and the amount of Internet provided complimentary is so negligible that I don't think they should mention free internet. All in all, it was still a nice stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

A well appointed hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Excellent location downtown. Only a few blocks to tour bus station, market square, lots of restaurants and shops, as well as convention center.
I stayed at the Grand Daddy Hotel while attending an international conference in Capetown. I chose this hotel primarily because it was least expensive hotel/airfare combo available on Expedia at the time. With little in the way of expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised by the appointments of the room I was given, the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (who went out to find me a toothbrush and toothpaste as my luggage was late). The elevator, which was claimed to be the oldest in Capetown was functional as well as historic. The staff at the attached restaurant was equally friendly and helpful, and the menu was tasty and reasonably priced. Just the think after a long day at the conference center (well within walking distance along a main Capetown street) when jet lag argued against going out for a bite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartbeespoort, South Africa

Unique trailer accommodation

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Beautifully renovated old hotel with historical lift still working. Trailer park on the rooftop is so unique, but be sure you know what you are into when booking it, as there's also a rooftop bar and cinema with loud LOUD music at night!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels