Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel was not as expected

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: A/C
Location: everything , bugs , restaurant , greenmarket ...
the main issue i had with the hotel is that no Air Conditioning is available , so we have to sleep with my wife and son in the living room with the windows open (windy weather) .as the bedroom was very hot! the bedroom had a strange noise (crack noise on the wall) , the bath room was clean , the overall apartment as well clean , the apartment is very well located , which justify i guess the price , it's just nearby long street as well as the City Sightseeing office . it's also near the greenmarket market (where the name came from i guess)
3 out of 5
by Nativ from Israel

Great (but noisy) position, terrible service

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
The check-in is located at a different location. The staff kept me for an hour explaining the place with pictures and telling me not to use too much wifi, and not to each on couches, and not stain the sheets and towels and so on and complaining about who know what. Really unpleasant. Someone should have met us at the flat with the keys, give us a quick tour of the place and all done. We had that with another place we stayed and it was great. Flat is right in the middle of town. Great tourist position. but gets noisy by 7AM when they set up all the vendor's stands. I understand its self catering, but they should at least provide dish-washing liquid! Really now!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Wotif
Whilst the accommodation was average but comfortable, the incredible noise from weekend revelers on long street on Friday and Saturday night was awful with people shouting all through the night. To add to the at 6am every morning the curios market in the square sets up for the day's trade. And the noise from that was hash as bad, if not worse. Needless to say we didn't have a restful stay. The shower hose in front bedroom was broken. I also found the inconvenience of having to go to another hotel to check in and collect keys not ideal. Check in took 30 min while my taxi meter was still running.
2 out of 5
by John from Hermanus

Key drama

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
i was very disappointed!!!!! So much drama to get key and stuff!! Travel to seapoint and to city. Not nice!!!
4 out of 5
by ZARINA from GRAHAMSTOWN

EXCELLENT LOCATION

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels
CLEAN ROOM. GREAT LOCATION. WILL DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN.
3 out of 5
by Alex from Scotland

Keys not at the Apartment

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel.com do not clearly display the fact that the keys to the property are across the city at another hotel, it is displayed under a drop down menu. Company running the property may also ask you to carry your own linen to the property. Outside in the square is a lovely market, unfortunately the noise of it setting up and being taken down can be quite loud.
4 out of 5
by dan from canada

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
noisy environs due to setting up and taking down of tents in the market each morning and evening
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by international from Australia

No Air Con & very noisy

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: location but that's about it
Cons: ready above
Location is ok but no Air conditioning and you cant leave windows open as no security screen very stuffy rooms and the street noise from the market stalls setting up early every day is horrible. The furniture is dated but ok.
2 out of 5
by Ratfink from Johannesburg

Great Views, Good Location Spoiled by the Noise

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels
Greenmarket Square is slap bang in the centre of Cape Town and offers a perfect location. The apartment is modern & in good condition. It is self-catering - in every respect. Check-in is miles away in Sea Point where you pay up-front plus a hefty breakage deposit. Where you arrive, there is no-one except a security person at reception. No porter. There is no tea or coffee provided and the only bathroom supplies comprise a small piece of soap. Ventilation is poor. If you open the sliding door on to the square it is fine, but the proximity of the neighbour's landing means it is a security risk to leave it open at night. The only other window is a small one that opens on to the corridor from the bedroom at eye-level. Not likely to be left open either. The tiny pool is clean but on the roof of the building surrounded by air-conditioners and the worst side of the neighbouring building. Some of the pool deck boards have come loose and are a danger to tripping. Then there is the noise. The street vendors make a racket at night when they pack up at night, followed by the clubs that thump out their music until the early hours and then the traders return shortly after six to set up again. One night was more than enough. When our airport pick-up arrived and asked for us at reception, the gent on duty had no idea who we were or in which apartment we were in - just just the kind fellow who rang our doorbell at 11 pm just after we had fallen asleep the night before.