Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia Canada

Top floor rooms best

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Great rooms that are really well appointed, nice location for safety and restaurants. The hotel has no restaurant but is adjacent to one with several others within 30 seconds walk. Be forewarned: no elevator to get from ground floor to reception where there is an elevator; and we were not able to get assistance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Bem localizado!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Hotel bem localizado, proximo a bons restaurantes. Limpeza deixou um pouco a desejar, mas nada que prejudicasse nossa estadia!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Even getting a knife pointed at me in the walk before Long Street nearby cannot disguise the fact this hotel is well situated and has great facilities. Brilliant staff and two fine bars/ restaurants to hang out in. The rooms are spacious and comfy. Really adored staying here and would again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bordeaux

Très bon emplacement: proche de Tout !

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Proximité de tout
Cons: Affluence dans les restos du dessous... Possible bruit !
Parking gratuit et sécurisé, personnel très accueillant, à 5 minutes à pieds de Long Street et de ses bars et restos... Le Quartier Malais est à 10 minutes à pieds. Hippo Hôtel est un excellent rapport Qualité / Prix ! Je recommande sans problème !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Adine Perel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us at Hippo Hotel in Cape Town. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town!
5 out of 5
by Keith from New York City

The Best Home Away From Home!!

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
The Hippo Boutique Hotel is my new found home in Cape Town. It was centrally located to everything Cape Town had to offer. The recommended list of restaurants for food choices was A+. Jerry's Burgers right downstairs have great starters and main courses. I sampled various items from the menu and all were of large portions (and I got the small and it was too much) and well seasoned. On the other side, you'll find Fat Cactus were Brett (one of the managers) introduced us to the Iceberg. The Iceberg is beer with frozen margarita on top. WOW!!! Across the street, Rick's Americana Cafe where I tried the Ostrich Burger (Excellent). Around the corner, Kauai, Knead, grocery store, ATM, and another string of eateries. Hippo Boutique also offers free parking. Everyone is extreamly polite, helpful, courteous, outgoing, and patient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hippo Boutique Hotel in The Gardens

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Charming little hotel tucked away in the Gardens neighborhood of Cape Town. Very conveniently located near Long Street, The Parliament, and other sights in historic Cape Town. The hotel entrance is tucked between two restaurants and is a little difficult to find especially at night. The rooms are nice and big, wifi works and staff is responsive. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Paul MN

Beautiful hotel near great restaurants

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I only got to stay at the Hippo Boutique hotel for one night as I was on a stopover in Cape Town between trips. I loved it and now whenever I am in Cape Town I will stay there! The hotel is fantastic and the staff are great. Thete are many restaurants wI think a few blocks distance of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel not too far away from town

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Room size was great with a huge bed and nice amenities. Breakfast coupon was good, got to try a few different joints. Free parking is a boon. Overall very pleasant experience. Perhaps the only downside was that the room was a little cold. Other than that, excellent value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from italia

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Bell'hotel in un buona posizione. Un po rumorosa la camera sulla strada
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel very comfortable rooms helpful 24 hr staff. Good neighborhood. We will definitely return. Wifi had a poor comnection but 3g worked well in the room.