Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel, sehr zentral.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Sehr freundlich, sauber und schöne Zimmer
Cons: Die Gäste sollten auf das Limit des Vouchers für das Frühstück aufmerksam gemacht werden!
Wir verbrachten 2 Nächte in diesem Hotel. Es war alles perfekt. Das Hotel verfügt über einen schönen Parkplatz. WLAN funktioniert einigermaßen gut. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und die Zimmer großzügig. Wir hatten Frühstück inklusive, dieses wird nicht im Hotel zubereitet, sondern man wird in eines der umliegenden Lokale geschickt, welche hervorragendes Essen anbieten. Bei einem dieser Lokale mussten wir allerdings einen kleinen Betrag aufzählen, da der Voucher aus dem Hotel nicht für ein normales Frühstück reichte. Das gab einen bitteren Beigeschmack 😟 Rund um das Hotel gibt es zahlreiche Lokale und sehr nette Bars. Wir haben es genossen und würden es jedem weiterempfehlen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Better than average hotel in a viby location

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We had a good stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel. Although would I go back? Maybe, but probably not. If you're into staying in the city, it's a good location, with many restaurants at your door step. I liked the breakfast idea of offering a few spots to visit in the area, we enjoyed Knead and Jerry's. The room and hotel both have some modern and thoughtful features, but some that are missing, which include semi-helpful staff. The regular rooms are clean and spacious enough, but lack a special touch (such as a view of a wall and spikes, pics are a little misleading). Overall the hotel is nice enough, has some definite pluses, but not quite what you expect from a boutique hotel at this rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in sehr guter Lage

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Die Lage und die Frühstücksoptionen. Für jeden was dabei.
Location: Um die Ecke ist die Kloof Street (Schöne Kneipen und Restaurants, junges Publikum, sichere Straße auch Abends).
Freundliches Personal; guter Service; sauberes, ruhiges und trendig-gemütlich eingerichtetes Zimmer; zentral gelegen in einem angesagten Viertel; jede Menge Kneipen und Restaurants in Gehweite; man hat verschiedene Frühstücksrestaurants zu Auswahl. Es gibt absolut nichts Negatives zu berichten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to lots of restaurants

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Table Mountain tram and hiking up the Lion's Head.
Great hotel. We really enjoyed the location and the staff were very leasing and helpful. Breakfast is included at local cafes. Knead is an excellent Cafe. Great food. We went there every day for breakfast. It's around the corner from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Hague

Perfect location. No extra facilities.

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: VERY spacious room with new and big bathroom + kitchen in the room.
Cons: some place where you can sit in the sun, with some peace and quiet.
Location: Long street: shops, restaurants and bars. Restaurants: next door and around the corner: all good/ very good and affordable. Go to Camps Bay!
Perfect location as a fall out base for your activities. Great restaurants around the corner & in the area. If you want te go out all day, this hotel is perfect. If you want to also have some chill-out time in your hotel: this is not the right place: no balcony, no public terrace (restaurants around the corner are good but very active and have no comfortasble furniture outside). So all you can do is stay in your (very comfortable en spacious room). Staff is friendly, everything is clean and breakfastrestaurants are very, very good! Especially charcoal and cork. For public tranport: Uber!!! Very cheap, friendly drivers and always one around the corner, wherever you are.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful small hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The staff
Location: Close to downtown and shopping. Also in walking distance from the best museum
So glad we chose the Hippo. The staff was fantastic and helped with taxis, our car rental and much more. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was in a perfect location for the sightseeing we wanted to do in Cape Town
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sally

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mayour

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels