Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice hotel, close to mall,

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location Breakfast Secure
Cons: Update lounge furniture Clean balcony More stable Tv
Location: Adjacent to Canal Wallk shopping centre Not far from other Cape town attreactions
Comfortable suite, lounge furniture a bit dated, Tv service intermittent Breakfast great and staff friendly Secure environment Good value compared to Sea point, Camps bay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Checked out early

Posted Feb 28, 2017
For the first time in 35 years of traveling, we left halfway through the reservation and found another place to stay. Hotel staff weren't well-informed, room was dirty (ants, trash in bathroom wastebasket, dirty coffee cup on balconey table, shower leaked, dirty curtains), fitness center was closed for renovation (we received no notice and would not have stayed there to begin with, had we known). Hotel guests can't access the property with their hotel key, must be buzzed in and out by staff which was an inconvenience. For $175 per night, this was unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Nice hotel close to mall

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: It had a large clean room with very nice bathroom, sitting area and TV's.
Cons: The advertised indoor lap pool was unavailable which was sad as I swim for exercise.
Location: It is in a safe area next to the Canal Walk Mall with all its restaurants, shops and movies.
Pleasant hotel in safe area within walking distance of Canal Walk Mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful canal view

Posted Jan 20, 2017
We stayed at Island club hotel for 13 nights. The first 3 days, our room was at the furthest building away from the main building which housed the cafe for breakfast each morning. It was a walk too far for my first cup of morning coffee. After talking to the manager, we were moved back to the main building. So, everything works out well. Breakfast buffet was very good. There was a good selection of fruits, vogurts, cereal, baked goods, hot foods, cheeses and cook to order eggs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States of America

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to mall.
Cons: Staff and ability to provide any assistance with booking or knowing their job.
Location: Mall
Hotel staff would not assist with booking tours and was not helpful. I asked that my windows not be opened, and the only way I got results was by talking to the manager. The only plus is that it is a minute walk to the mall. I would not recommend this hotel or stay here in the future.
5 out of 5
by Lindsay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alexandra

Convenient, cozy and friendly

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great. My only complaint is that the hotel was unwilling to issue "access cards" for various entry points, which meant a lot of unnecessary roundabout walking and waiting. Other than that, everything was wonderful, including the very helpful staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for Business Trip, even with family

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and convenient for business conference at the Convention Center.