Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Dated, and a bit odd

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
I am a frequent visitor to Cape Town and I always stay in guesthouses in this neighbourhood. I chose Jambo House because of the location, and because I think I stayed for one night about 20 years ago :-) This time I stayed two nights, and for me it was the least pleasurable stay in any B&B or guesthouse for a very long time. Luckily there are several real & super alternatives with a much better value-proposition just around the corner. It is an old guesthouse that has not been kept up-to-date; it actually feels a bit old and tired, perhaps even outdated, in the way your Grandma's place might feel after a bit of neglect. I also, honestly, have to say I got the feeling that the owner is tired of running it. I guess it is difficult if your heart is not in it... but it does not make for a pleasant stay. You can do better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Idan from Tel Aviv

Warm Hospitality

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very much recommended. Safe neighborhood and great hosts! You've got 3-4 good restaurants at a 5 mn walking distance and the Waterfront at a 15 mn walk. They have slight problems of outage but this is all over Cape Town anyway. Very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pierre from göteborg

En positiv överraskning

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Vi hade aldrig bott på ett guest house förut och blev väldigt positivt överraskade. Våra värdar tog extremt väl hand om oss, tipsade på bra restauranger och trevliga saker att göra i Kapstaden och var engagerade i att vi hade det bra på ett mycket trevligt sätt. Rummet var enkelt men rent och alla rummen personliga. Läget är perfekt i ett område där man kunde gå fram och tillbaka till Waterfront utan att känna sig obekväm eller hotad. Vi kan varmt rekommendera Jambo guest house till vem som helst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Best guesthouse I have ever stayed in

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Simply amazing & charming & magical. The place is gorgeous both in terms of rooms, common areas and the garden. The hosts are absolutely sweet and professional and caring. As we were given a tour of the premises we could not stop gawking at how beautiful and different it all is. And the private bar upstairs is a place to behold. Were it not for the draw of Cape Town, I would have spent all my time in this guesthouse. There is a jacuzzi in the garden, so many different flowers giving off lovely scents, a pond filled with koi who are happy to eat from your hands. Breakfast is lovely with fresh fruit and plenty of other choices. The rooms are like little stories. Oh, and the bathtub fills up in minutes - most impressive water pressure. I cannot recommend this place enough. It is a destination unto itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleen from Justin

Everything we needed!

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
At Jambo Guest House, great attention is spent on details ensuring a very comfortable stay. Loved the uniquely decorated rooms, garden area and upstairs bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MARIA CARMEN from Madrid

Excelentes Hosts

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
Muy buen sitio. Los dueños, Berry y Mina encantadores. Dan muy buenos consejos para visitar Cape Town y alrededores
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Leif

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ, USA

Loved this place!

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Great location and hosts. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. Loved the decor and art displays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David Oliver from South Africa

Jambo guest house

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Clean tidy n friendly