Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lovely stay with Barry ans Nima

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: We liked the personal service and friendly atmosphere
Cons: It is hard to think of anything which could be improved
Location: There is a lovely deli and steak restaurant nearby. Jumbo is within easy walking distance from Cape Town and you don't need a car.
We had a lovely three night stay at Jumbo. The owners go out of their way to provide personal service, with amazing breakfasts and good company in Barry's bar in the evenings. The owners provided advice and tips on where to go and what to see. We hope to be back next time we go to South Africa! Thanks Barry and Nima for an unforgettable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Feel at home in Capetown

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Jambo Is a great place to stay to capture the true spirit of Cape Town and surrounding areas. Barry and Mina made us feel right at home and shared their extensive knowledge of their hometown and Africa. This amazing couple has lovingly transformed a 130-year-old house into an enticing oasis filled with personal touches, great furnishings, fine food and infectious laughter as well as outstanding art and music. Among their many talents, Berry is a magical guitarist and singer and Mina is a superb artists and art collector. We can't wait to come back to Jambo guesthouse again
4 out of 5
by Philip from USA

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wife a little too friendly. Every morning at breakfast wife stood and talked to us the entire time we ate. As a result we had to go to our room to make plans for the day and not over breakfast. Also, breakfast just a continental one with no hot food. Time for breakfast seemed late - started at 8am. When we asked if we could get food early our last day to catch a plane the wife said "they have food at the airport". The husband did make coffee and cold cereal but no fresh rolls
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon, UK

Home from home

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Quality of room, location and great hosts
Cons: Happy with everything.
Location: Walk to V&A for bus tours around the Cape and local restaurants
Great hosts in Barry and Mina in a wonderful B&B within walking distance of restaurants and the V&A. Lovely garden to relax in and a great breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by JANA from South Africa

Business trip Cape Town

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Was comfortable , breakfast lacked , only toast offered as hot , seems continental
4 out of 5
by Larry

A great place for a stay on Cape Town

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
The best feature of this hotel was the hospitality of the hosts Barry and Mina. Very welcoming and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Sibylle from La Nucia

Your home away from home in Cape Town

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
I changed my booking from a hotel to this guest house and I'm very happy that I did. The owners, Bary and Mina are very welcoming and the house is very comfortable and cosy, you can tell that a lot of love and care made it what it is today. On the top floor is an amazing bar, and it was very nice to socialze with other guests and the owners as well as their friends. I can really recommend it and if I come back to Cape Town I hope to stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated, and a bit odd

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
I am a frequent visitor to Cape Town and I always stay in guesthouses in this neighbourhood. I chose Jambo House because of the location, and because I think I stayed for one night about 20 years ago :-) This time I stayed two nights, and for me it was the least pleasurable stay in any B&B or guesthouse for a very long time. Luckily there are several real & super alternatives with a much better value-proposition just around the corner. It is an old guesthouse that has not been kept up-to-date; it actually feels a bit old and tired, perhaps even outdated, in the way your Grandma's place might feel after a bit of neglect. I also, honestly, have to say I got the feeling that the owner is tired of running it. I guess it is difficult if your heart is not in it... but it does not make for a pleasant stay. You can do better.
4 out of 5
by Idan from Tel Aviv

Warm Hospitality

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very much recommended. Safe neighborhood and great hosts! You've got 3-4 good restaurants at a 5 mn walking distance and the Waterfront at a 15 mn walk. They have slight problems of outage but this is all over Cape Town anyway. Very good value for money.