Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The Boutique Hotel has great charm and history but we did not feel it was value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyable stay with perfect location. Good breakfast also.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night in Franschhoek

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable stay with good breakfast. Very short walk to the main street and/or wine tram.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Small but nice clean hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The friendly helpful staff and the interesting and different rooms available. Plus the convenience of being so close to the Main Street.
Cons: Possibly the bathroom could be updated
Location: The location is perfect, just two minutes to the Main Street. Spectacular views from surrounding vineyards. Great wine tasting very close by.
This hotel is very small with about 8 very differently furnished rooms. Although our room was the smallest of the ones available it was still very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The pool and sunbeds around it were more than adequate for the guests staying at the time. The breakfast included was very good. We would definitely come back to this unusual hotel and book one of the larger rooms possibly with the jacuzzi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gavin from London

Delightful boutique hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Klein Oliphants is a delightful if quirky hotel set on a residential street about 100m from the main road in Franschhoek. Lovely garden, and freshly-cooked breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden was a highlight.
5 out of 5
by Ross from Perth

Fantastic spot in a great place

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
An overnighter - ideal location - beautiful place a short walk from the heart of town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Great stay here!

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed two nights - the hotel staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants, spas, and helping us make reservations. The hot breakfast they made us to order was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolann from UK

Quaint

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Sitting on the verandah in the morning
Cons: The room decor and air conditioning. Also the bed and pillows were very hard.
Location: Perfect position for town with its shops & restaurants. You can book a Tram/Trolley tour of the vineyards which is well worth doing.
We arrived early but our rooms were not ready so we stowed our luggage at reception and wandered around the town. Once ready our cases were placed in the room ready for us on our return. Our room was on the upper floor and although entry was very tight once upstairs the Room opened out and was spacious. The room was a little tired and could do with a lick of paint, the air conditioning also struggled to cope with heat. We had a Jacuzzi on the deck outside along with two sun beds so we didn't need to use the pool. Breakfast was served out on the verandah at the back which had a lovely view through the garden out to the mountains. The staff were always very friendly and happy to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Jacqs, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for your honest review - this air conditioner has since been replaced with a larger capacity unit and is more than adequate. We would love to have you here for a return visit one day. Best Regards Jacqueline Manager KOH
5 out of 5
by Mike from Boston

Right in Town

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
It is perfect for a charming weekend in Franschhoek. The surrounding neighborhood is safe and quaint and it is right in town; you can walk to everything. Will stay there whenever I am in Franschhoek.