Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Hotel was accommodating, friendly and central.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: I liked the hospitality as well as the look of the building, in that it has been maintained in its charm. The inside is the same, clean.
Cons: There are not many upgrades I can think of in that everything went smoothly. I left a pair of reading glasses of which the staff has been helpful.
Location: The location is near the city centre - walking distance to Long, Loop and Kloof street. Table Mountain, Cafe's, Shopping, Restaurants are close/safe.
My experience was great in that the location was super central to all of Cape Town's coolest spots. The staff made special arrangements upon check-in to make sure that our bags were safe, and a room was available immediately, starting the trip on a good note.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite and friendly

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Stayed several days before leaving on a 30 day tour and stayed several more days at the conclusion of the tour Friendly staff and reasonably priced restaurant which served great meals made one feel at home
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Good location

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Location, road off Floof safe. Prefer Floof to Long Street better bars and restaurants, more up market. At the end of the night better area to be in
Cons: TV reception like elsewhere in Southern Africa poor
Thought previous comments harsh, room fine, pool small but ok, staff fine location good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Calmness at the hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Good experience but I suggest that wifi should be in all rooms instead of public places
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Worst Part of Our Trip to Cape Town

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: I appreciated that this hotel was located pretty centrally to some of our favorite Cape Town spots, like Arnolds. I also liked that they had a pool.
Cons: Every aspect of this hotel aside from the located could be improved.
Location: Table Mountain. Arnolds. Long Street. Garden Center. It's all close by.
We booked this hotel for four nights. When we checked in they charged us for all four nights. Then when we got to the room it stunk of mold, I couldn't allow my pregnant wife to spend a night there. Upon informing the manager that we wanted to check out early, they refused to refund ANY of our money. I am currently trying to work with Expedia to get some of my money back. The Lady Hamilton Hotel is dirty, aesthetically unappealing, and is managed in a sleazy manner. However, they take excellent pictures for their web advertising.
3 out of 5
by Olugbenga from Lagos, Nigeria

Nice Hotel on a quiet street.

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: The room was clean. The breakfast was good. The environment was quiet.
Cons: It was very disappointing that there was no Internet Facility in the Rooms!! Only within the lobby!!
Location: CHEKERS nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel convenient to sights in Cape Town.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Elevators.
Location: Downtown and Table Mountain are close.
Spent two nights there, both quite comfortable. Took two tours the hotel staff recommended and both were good. Convenient to walk to good places in Cape Town too. Rooms are good, not great but fine. No elevator to upper floors is a pain with luggage, but how bad depends on how much you have. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Included breakfast was good too.
3 out of 5
by Moonshadow from Colorado, USA

Hot water anyone?

Posted May 10, 2012
Cons: No hot water.
Location: Location was not that good...It was necessary to take a cab to most places and this isn't very close to the bus system.
No hot water for showering...The first room I was in had mold in the shower...The 2nd room was clean, but again, the hot water was not to be found. I guess for the price, it's okay, but wouldn't want to stay there again. It's not very well located, as I had to take a taxi to most places. I would definitely stay somewhere more centrally located and pay more on any future visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Great value for money and good location

Posted Dec 23, 2011
Location: This one. Easily walkable to large number of bars and restaurants. And great views of Table Mountain.
Unbelievably good value for money and close to large number of restaurants and bars that line nearby Kloof and Long Streets. The rate included an ample breakfast and the availability of (free) coffee and tea all day in the dining room more than made up for the fact that there was no tea/coffee making facility in the room. We stayed twice in two weeks (once for 3 nights and then for one). Not sure they understood the concept of 'double' rooms as each time we were given twins. But no big deal: each room had large bath and shower and we had great views of Table Mountain! Overall the staff were friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Cheap and Cheerful

Posted Dec 14, 2009
The Lady Hamilton Hotel in Cape Town is an excellent hotel for those who do not spend much time in their hotel room whilst on holiday other than for sleeping. The location and surrounding neighbourhood (The Gardens) is convenient to town down Cape Town whilst not being in the middle of it. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the hotel staff cheerful, and the rooms cleaned spotlessly every day. The hotel itself is very basic and the car park is a bit of a nightmare. If you want to impress your friends, tell them you're staying in the Mount Nelson, literally around the corner, and take them for high tea there. However, for an economic hotel in Cape Town, the Lady Hamilton is hard to beat.