Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Stay spoils by noisy corporate function

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Having been given restaurant booking in main restaurant on our second night we arrived to find restaurant booked out completely for corporate function
Location: In beautiful mountain location.
Great hotel in beautiful setting. However experience ruined by noisy corporate function ion second day. Still noisy at 3am. Also gave rise to our booking for main dining room being rescinded when we appeared for dinner and us moved to informal outdoor patio restaurant .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Line, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is always disheartening to hear such feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Nettes Hotel mit sehr freundlichen Leuten..

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Sehr netter Umgang- egal ob Putzfrau oder Manager...
Cons: Dachisolierung von innen (zog ganz schön und war ziemlich laut)
Location: Ohne Auto ist kaum eine Unternehmung möglich...
Wir wurden sehr freundlich aufgenommen. Das Zimmer war groß und sauber. An kälteren Tagen ist es recht zugig und auch sehr hellhörig, da die Dachseite auf der Bettseite nicht gut isoliert ist. In der Nacht scheint auch das Licht vom Gang hindurch. Das könnte man vielleicht durch eine Isolierung abstellen. Essen, Pool, Frühstücksbuffet...alles prima. hat man einen Wunsch- alles wir erfüllt oder versucht zu erfüllen. Am Abend kommt noch einmal die Dame vom Roomservice- tauscht Handtücher und es gibt ein Leckerli. Bei schönem Wetter kann man auf der Terrasse einen Snack zu sich nehmen..allerdings an kalten Tagen ist dies nicht möglich, man müsste praktisch in der Lobby essen- was an den Tischen fast nicht möglich ist. Da könnte eine Alternative gefunden werden...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Line, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback Katrin. We will look into the feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

A lovely hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Lounge area and friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Bathrooms could be updated
A very comfortable and friendly hotel only 5 minutes from the centre of Franschhoek.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Liné, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Mountainous scenery.Wonderful.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Scenery and surroundings.
Cons: Restaurant staff service at breakfast.
Location: Lots of winetasting activities.
Enjoyed the stay.Service in restaurant at breakfast was not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Liné, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Great staff disappointing rooms

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Staff was great.
Cons: Quieter
Location: Short drive to franschhoek
Staff is excellent. Very kind and caring. No exercise facilities. Room was large but poor design with cramped bathroom and slanting ceiling which you would hit your head when getting out of bed or off the commode. Room was very noisy with particularly loud noise at 6 am making for not a good night sleep. If the room was quiet I would have recommended perhaps just avoid room 18.
5 out of 5
by sandra from Aldeia da Serra/ Brasil

hotel muito agradavel

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Tudo, o hotel é muito bem cuidado, localização otima.
Location: hotel fica alguns minutos do centro de franschhoek, mas vale a pena.
otimo quarto, limpeza excelente, otimo restaurante, e otimo cafe da manha.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is always most gratifying when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Chris C Snyman
2 out of 5
by M from London

Lovely setting in the Cape Winelands disappoints

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Bedroom and the views/setting
Cons: Perfunctory service, poor hygiene standards in the restaurant and general shabbiness in the public spaces.
Despite the lovely setting, the hotel was very disappointing. The public spaces and pool area were dated, poorly maintained and hygiene standards were definitely below par. It's a large hotel that clearly targets the corporate conference market and is lacking any sense of individuality or personal service. The experience can be best described as anonymous. Surprisingly, the bedroom was an unexpected highlight - characterful, well-appointed with lovely views and a spacious, modern bathroom. Breakfast was a self-service buffet with a standard offering, again the hygiene standards were below par.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spectacular mountain setting, wonderful service

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Fantastic location and beautiful unobtrusive service.