Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Lovely hotel!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Pool, drink service at the pool
Location: Hiking, Vineyards, Resturants, Museums all nearby
We had a nice stay at this hotel. We stayed in a Vineyard Suite overlooking the, you guessed it, vineyard. Overall a great experience - the shuttle driver was great (free into town 2x per day, otherwise pay as you need it), the pool was clean and staffed, lunch on the veranda was good, the grounds were impeccable, front desk staff was good in helping us plan a hike and make dinner reservations. Only feedback is that the wifi didn't consistently reach our room and that the shower was sort of dark with the bathroom lights on the other side of the bathroom. Minor stuff in the grand scheme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Great hotel in a lovely setting

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable.
Cons: The food.
Location: The location is beautiful, although I would suggest eating in Franshheok.
This is a great hotel, the views are outstanding I would recommend it. However, the only thing lets it down is the food. The fine dining is not brilliant and the bar area is not really comfortable to eat food. ie. table too low. I think they could use the breakfast area more when the outside area is not available or too busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Stay spoils by noisy corporate function

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Having been given restaurant booking in main restaurant on our second night we arrived to find restaurant booked out completely for corporate function
Location: In beautiful mountain location.
Great hotel in beautiful setting. However experience ruined by noisy corporate function ion second day. Still noisy at 3am. Also gave rise to our booking for main dining room being rescinded when we appeared for dinner and us moved to informal outdoor patio restaurant .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Line, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is always disheartening to hear such feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

A lovely hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Lounge area and friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Bathrooms could be updated
A very comfortable and friendly hotel only 5 minutes from the centre of Franschhoek.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Liné, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Mountainous scenery.Wonderful.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Scenery and surroundings.
Cons: Restaurant staff service at breakfast.
Location: Lots of winetasting activities.
Enjoyed the stay.Service in restaurant at breakfast was not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Liné, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Great staff disappointing rooms

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Staff was great.
Cons: Quieter
Location: Short drive to franschhoek
Staff is excellent. Very kind and caring. No exercise facilities. Room was large but poor design with cramped bathroom and slanting ceiling which you would hit your head when getting out of bed or off the commode. Room was very noisy with particularly loud noise at 6 am making for not a good night sleep. If the room was quiet I would have recommended perhaps just avoid room 18.
2 out of 5
by M from London

Lovely setting in the Cape Winelands disappoints

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Bedroom and the views/setting
Cons: Perfunctory service, poor hygiene standards in the restaurant and general shabbiness in the public spaces.
Despite the lovely setting, the hotel was very disappointing. The public spaces and pool area were dated, poorly maintained and hygiene standards were definitely below par. It's a large hotel that clearly targets the corporate conference market and is lacking any sense of individuality or personal service. The experience can be best described as anonymous. Surprisingly, the bedroom was an unexpected highlight - characterful, well-appointed with lovely views and a spacious, modern bathroom. Breakfast was a self-service buffet with a standard offering, again the hygiene standards were below par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular mountain setting, wonderful service

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Fantastic location and beautiful unobtrusive service.