Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern B&B

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay, was a bit pricey but offered great service and a fantastic breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelming experience & overpriced

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stay: 1 night 19 Nov 206. A BIG disconnect in the expectation created - from making a booking (based on online images) to actual/physical viewing of the guesthouse & room. The images are misleading with regards to room layout and size. Our room was defined as "Guesthouse Rooms En Suite Luxury" with an area size of 40sq. metres. This was certainly not the case - as the actual room was half that size. Most likely included here, is the big balcony area but nowhere was that communicated in the room description - very misleading and this guesthouse lacks in transparency to the customer. This room also was subject to a lot of noise - hearing everything taking place in the kitchen & breakfast area. The worst part of all is the revolting smell from the bathroom basin - which, to make it worse is not contained in the bathroom but located outside of the bathroom and right next to the bed. We had to place a whole lot of towels on top of the basin to contain the smell. Breakfast: Served from 7-9 - a bit rigid in being flexible to allow guests to sleep in. They accommodated to move it to 9:30. The only positive: The great omelette & coffee that we had for breakfast. On the whole - this guesthouse is very overpriced for the customer service & the condition of the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and secure with a great breakfast.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Hospitality, breakfast, comfort.
Location: Very convenient. An easy walk to nice restaurants and bars as well as the university and STIAS. There is on-site parking if you have a car.
The hospitality was great. After a long trip it was especially nice to find a decanter of sherry in the room upon arrival. The room and common area was comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was terrific with eggs cooked to order along with a nice selection of meats, fruits and cereals.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Mashudu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Fredrik from Stockholm

Great breakfast

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with good breakfast and friendly staff kitchen staff. The location is good and it's a short walk from all the restaurants. The only downside was that the power kept on going out for a few minutes at a time. I would go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Nice clean modern hotel with lovely staff and a good breakfast - would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Komatipoort

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was beautiful and everyone was helpful and friendly too. We had a lovely stay and will definitely be back when in Stellenbosch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A comfortable and pleasant stay.

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely spacious room. Very pleasant surroundings. Friendly staff. Super facilities for my business visit. Next time I would need to remember a costume for the pretty pool. Great breakfasts. Easy walk into the restaurant area. Fair parking although not undercover. Unfortunately had some loud and clumsy neighbours. Overall a great visit. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Pleasant room, nice staff, draconian business stds

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, conveniently located, pleasant staff upon arrival.
Cons: Business practices that were more flexible, and accommodating (such as releasing a "hold" without charging for cancellation).
Location: Wineries all around, pleasant drives throughout, and the ocean not far away.
Using Expedia, I shopped around for the best value, focusing on places less than $100, and was happy to find 2 very nice locations in that price range. Unfortunately, in both cases, the advertised price on Expedia was $26 less than the final price AFTER entering my credit card-!!! I called Expedia to explain my situation, and the call center manager explained that it may have been due to booking online and instantaneous changes in the price(?). To shop around, I selected the option of putting a "hold" on a room, where I could pay upon arrival. However, after using my credit card for the "hold" at one hotel (L&L), office management said they would charge 50% for ANY cancellation (this is NOT a true "hold"). Fortunately, the other hotel I chose released my "hold" upon request--I'll certainly choose that one next time! Since L&L threatened to charge me 50% within the hour I placed my "hold," my wife & I were forced to stay at there. Everything was clean; it was conveniently located, as advertised; but the shower drained VERY slowly and the building was more akin to a nice, college dorm (many students appear to stay/live there). In the end, while having a well-stocked kitchen was a major plus, I won't book L&L again, because of their draconian "hold" policy and related hard-ball business practices (additional charge for parking).