Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PJ, London

Friendly lodge seven minutes walk from seafront.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Comfortable, clean room. Breakfasts al fresco with a selection of fresh fruit while the sky divers float overhead on their descent from the mountain. Owner Frank very helpful with local advice. Attractive pool and handily placed for Seapoint buses into town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Frank, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. It was a pleasure looking after you. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and Cape Town
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good location, close to beach & restaurants

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The location and the other guests who are the ones that create the warm and welcoming atmosphere at the lodge.
Cons: More customer focusesed, more flexibility ...remember we're on holiday :)
Location: Close to the sea, lovely promenade where you can hire bikes or just enjoy a leisurely stroll, several restaurants, supermarkets etc.
First impressions are everything and to be honest, we didn't feel very welcome when we arrived two hours earlier than our agreed check in time. Frank's enthusiasm was underwhelming. We were more than happy to come back at 16.00 the agreed time but we were sent away feeling like naughty children! Frank and Simon run this lodge with military precision...a bit more flexibility wouldn't go amiss e.g. strict check in and out times which are not customer friendly, i.e check in is at 16.00 & check out is 10.00, times we haven't had anywhere else on our travels, also strict breakfast times. We also got the impression that everything was too much effort e.g. asked for a boiled egg one morning & was told no as the pan was in use!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Frank, Hotel Management
Arriving at lunchtime 2 hours before agreed check in and expecting the room to be ready is not a good way to create a good relationship between guest and owner. Especially when the guest shows that they are unhappy about it. Check in/out and meal times are standard practice in hospitality, ours are not strict as we have to how some flexibility. The egg was not refused but would take time as the others wanted, fried, scrambled and then poached!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small Bed and Breakfast in the Heart of Sea Point

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Friendly, clean, breakfast.
Cons: Some may find the lack of air conditioning a problem.
Location: Just off Main Road in Sea Point, so convenient for everything Cape Town has to offer.
Loloho, run by an English ex-pat, is a large house that has seven bedrooms. It is situated in the heart of Sea Point, and so convenient for everything. It provides comfortable bedrooms, use of a pool, off-street parking (not for those lacking in confidence!) and a good breakfast. For the price, it is excellent value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Frank, Hotel Management
Many thanks for that. Air conditioning has been considered but the overall opinion was that the number of days it would be useful is minimal in temperate Cape Town plus most guests prefer the quieter hum of the fan and better air quality. It was good to see you and we enjoyed looking after you Best wishes Frank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very quiet location.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The quiet location.
Cons: Butter, not margarine, at breakfast.
The rooms at Loloho Lodge are comfortable and clean and the bathroom has a very efficient shower. It is in a quiet location, within easy walking distance of restaurants, not far from the city centre and the V&A waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Frank, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond Butter can be provided on request
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire, UK

A Taste of the Mediterranean in Cape Town

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The location, the garden, the cleanliness and the facilities offered.
Cons: An emergency telephone.
Location: There are a number of good local restaurants and it is accessible to the Victoria and Alfred Docks and local transport.
The Loloho Lodge is a tranquil guest house in the heart of Sea Point. The accommodation is well appointed, with all the facilities a guest could need. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is delicious. My only criticism is that the owner is not on the premises in the evening and the rooms have no telephone. If like me, you are travelling from the UK and have an expensive roaming facility on your mobile, you feel a bit vulnerable should you need to contact someone in an emergency. Perhaps there should be some telephone facility or panic button should a guest need to call an ambulance or police. Apart from that the Lodge offers everything you need for a most enjoyable stay including a pretty garden and lovely swimming pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Frannk, Hotel Management
As the owner lives on the premises, there is no problem in contacting him. In this day and age, just about everyone has a mobile phone so in an emergency costs do not come into account. Emergency numbers are clearly shown in the room information. Otherwise we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from South West England

Convenient to beach, shops and restaurants

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable clean and relaxed
Cons: All good but personally I would have preferred the option of an earlier breakfast.
Location: A few streets back from plenty of shops, supermarkets and a range of international restaurants. Good transport and a short walk to the sea front.
I enjoyed the clean spacious room with provision of drinks. Breakfast was a good varied menu and it was good to be able to eat outside with the option of sharing tables with other guests. The manager was friendly, cheerful and helpful. The pool was a welcome addition and was clean and well serviced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Frank, Hotel Management
An earlier breakfast is available on request or something can be put in the room the night before if it is required THAT early
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Kingston upon Thames, Greater London, UK

Best place to stay in Cape Town in our opinion!

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: The friendly ambience.
Cons: There was nothing not to like.
Location: Located in Sea Point, which has many fine restaurants within easy walking distance and the area felt very safe day and night.
We booked here for a week but ended up extending for another 5 nights on top of that, as we loved it so much. The hosts Frank & Simon can't do enough to make sure that the stay is a real home from home experience. The property is beautifully maintained, the rooms are clean and we felt very secure here. There is a fantastic buffet breakfast every morning with many fresh fruits, cheese, cold meats, bread rolls, toast, cereals, fruit juice and yoghurts to go with your tea and coffee, together with the option to have freshly cooked bacon & eggs as well. Free wifi is a real added bonus. There is a beautiful pool and much outdoor seating in the lovely garden area. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else next time we come to Cape Town and we can't recommend this accommodation highly enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Frank, Hotel Management
I could not have written a better review myself!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from London, UK

Great B&B in Seapoint area

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Nice room, great breakfast
Cons: Owner/manager has a strange manner, cold pool
Location: Central and safe but not as nice as eg Camps Bay
Overall a lovely B&B with a nice pool and central location. I didn't love Seapoint as an area - it is definitely not as nice as eg Camps Bay. Frank, the owner/manager tries hard to assist guests but his manner can be a bit off-putting/confrontational at times. Pool was too cold to swim in but is nice to look at and garden is pretty too. Breakfast was excellent although could be served a bit later!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Frank, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Gute Lage aber unfreundlicher Gastgeber

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Cons: Ein wenig Freundlichkeit würde nicht schaden :(
Wir wählten die Loloho Lodge wegen der Lage und auch wegen der guten Bewertungen und weil wir nach 4 Wochen Aufenthalt am Kap eigentlich sicher waren, hier nichts falsch machen zu können. Wir haben während unserer Reise viele verschiedene Unterkünfte ausprobiert und dabei sehr gute Erfahrungen gemacht und hatten reizende Gastgeber. Leider hier nicht. Die Lage in Sea Point ist zwar gut und die Unterkunft sehr sauber und komfortabel. Der Hausherr ist aber sehr unfreundlich und wenig willkommen heißend. Man fühlte sich im Grunde nicht als Gast, sondern mehr wie ein Störfaktor und das hat uns (bei fast 100€/Nacht) tatsächlich ein wenig die Laune verdorben. Wir bekamen eine Liste mit Regeln, das Guesthouse ist den ganzen Tag verschlossen (es gibt so gut wie keinen Ansprechpartner) Die Frühstückszeit ist von 8-9 Uhr. (doch, so lang :/ ) Auf mein verwundertes Nachfragen, wurde uns beschieden, dass wir etwas länger sitzen bleiben dürften.... Das Frühstück ist gut.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Frank, Hotel Management
Diejenigen, die unsere Bewertungen gelesen haben, werden feststellen, dass wir die seltsame seltene Besprechung bekommen, wo der Besitzer, für mich selbst kritisiert wird, wegen seiner Unangemessenheit für die Hotellerie. Es sollte auch darauf hingewiesen werden, dass der Eigentümer ist ein No-Nonsense Art von Person (ein Zitat von einem anderen Gast) und daher nicht gut reagieren auf die wenigen Gäste, die anspruchsvoll, unhöflich, rücksichtslos, schlecht gekleidet und mangelnde Höflichkeit. Freundlichkeit und Haltung ist eine zweiseitige Sache und Respekt ist verdient. Die Haltung hier ist deutlich durch die negativen Kommentare zu einem falschen Eindruck zu geben gezeigt. Der Satz von Regeln (?) Ist das willkommene Informationsheft, das alle Hotels und Pensionen in der einen oder anderen Form haben. Das Gästehaus ist nicht den ganzen Tag geschlossen, da die Gäste ihren eigenen Schlüssel haben und können ihr eigenes Zimmer 24 Stunden am Tag. Es gibt ein Sicherheitstor zum Frühstücksraum, der im Allgemeinen gesperrt ist, also können die Gäste nicht durch den Frühstücksraum in das Haupthaus wandern, das auch mein Haus ist, aber die Glasschiebetür zu ihm ist nicht geschlossen, es sei denn es niemand zu Hause gibt. Es gibt auch Kontakt per Handy, wenn nötig. Das Frühstück wird von 08.00 bis 09.30 Uhr oder früher nach Vereinbarung angegeben, so dass wir wie Gäste um 09.30 nicht um 09.30 Uhr fertig sein können und das Buffet bleibt bis sie alle fertig gegessen haben. Die Gäste sind bekannt, dass sie noch am Frühstückstisch um 11.00 Uhr sitzen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt am Main

Wunderbare kleine Pension

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Von 2 Inhabern persönlich geführte Pension in guter Lage. In die Innenstadt, Waterfront als auch zu den Stränden muss man auf Transportmittel zurückgreifen, dennoch empfinde ich die Lage im "beruhigten" North Point als sehr gut. Die beiden Inhaber kümmern sich in jeder Beziehung persönlich ... deshalb sind in Punkto Sauberkeit, Organisation etc. die Dinge optimal. Die Inhaber können bei jedem Anliegen sofort persönlich angesprochen werden; sei es auch um die letzten Fussballergebnisse der Premier League mal durchzudiskutieren. Ich selbst habe ausserdem hochinteressante Routen-Tipps in der Kap-Region bekommen, die ich dann genau so abgefahren bin. Wer sich im Ambiente einer kleinen Pension grundsätzlich wohl fühlt, dem kann man absolut raten, hier für seinen Kapstadt-Aufenthalt abzusteigen. Von Vorteil sind Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache in Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass die beiden Inhaber Briten sind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2015 by Frank, Hotel Management
Many thanks. We enjoyed your stay and especially the chats Best wishes Frank