Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Shannon M from Salt Lake City

Amazing Value for Winelands Visit

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels
Lovane is a beautiful boutique property just minutes from Stellenbosch, balancing the convenience of the city with the rural relaxation of the vineyard. We booked the deluxe room and loved the exposed brick walls and bathtub in our room, which overlooked the vines from the second floor balcony. Excellent value for your money - look no further and stay at this lovely estate.
2 out of 5
by Ben from Germany

Self Catering Cottages are terrible

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Have been staying in the guest house. The house had been build in a cheap and light weight way, getting really hot during the day, no air condition in there. Couldn't open the window because there was no mosquito net to prevent them from coming in. The linen was disgusting with yellow stains on it. The old refrigerator was really loud, as well as the water pump next to the window. The so restaurant served nothing but breakfast. Being far away from civilization you end up in South Africa without even having a red wine...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wringtonian from Bristol

Hidden Gem!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Safe, convenient and quiet
Cons: Room safes need to be reinstated
Location: Wineries, short drive from Steelenbosch town
Very convenient for A310 and Stellenbosch wineries. Made very welcome and had lovely room overlooking the vineyard and the mountains. Needed an early breakfast one morning as we were playing golf so hotel arranged for a super continental breakfast to be laid out for us at 06.00. Enjoyed the wine tasting in the cellar, which was very informative.
4 out of 5
by Réjean from Gatineau, Canada

In the middle of the wineries

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels
We would have liked to stay longer. Wonderful place. Country side mais very fine people.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Modern Wine Farm Accomodation

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels
Enjoyed a pleasant one-night visit and enjoyed the wine tasting at Lovane. The estate is located several miles from Stellenbosch but it is a quick trip. There is no restaurant for meals - just for breakfast which was very good thus a trip to town is necessary.
4 out of 5
by Erich

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Lovane Boutique Wine Estate, Stellenbosch

Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Hotels
We were delighted with the service, great nicely fresh designed rooms, super breakfast, nice small pool area with great views over the wineyard. I am happy to recommend Lovane. A great experience and very nice surprise. We have some experience from the area as we been living in SA for a long time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zürich, Switzerland

Guest House in the vineyard

Posted Feb 20, 2012 on Hotels
A guesthouse managed from a young and motivated team. A warm receiving, everything was uncomplicated and the breakfast was excellent. We were only one night there but in this relaxing vineyard environment we could also stay longer. It's also very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, UK

Fantastic find in Stellenbosch

Posted Jan 18, 2011
Fabulous little 'find' in Stellenbosch. Rooms very clean and simply yet stylishly decorated. Very friendly service from the owners who recommended some great resturants and things to do. Great views to wake up to, too! The wine tasting on site was an added bonus and worth a visit for their reds if nothing else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great boutique hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2010
Charming hotel with great service and comfortable rooms! Short, easy bike ride into Stellenbosch and nearby wineries. Would recommend a car to enjoy surrounding area and evening activities.