Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Swen from Zürich / Schweiz

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Super nettes Personal mit tollem und leckerem Frühstück ! Toller Sonnenaufgang
5 out of 5
by patricia from Paris

excellent guest house !

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
excellent à tous points de vue : lieu, service dans l'hotel et accueil du personnel , très bonne cuisine de Darwin et super petits dejs
5 out of 5
by Alan

Perfect weekend getaway

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Long weekend during business trip. Perfect place to relax and close to all amenities/ local restaurants/ lots to do in Simon's Town if you can bear to tear yourself away from the large, stylish and very comfortable suites with amazing views. Immaculate home from home, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, no detail left to chance. Experienced chef should you wish to dine in with notice. Will definitely return if there is opportunity to do so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Great boutique hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2016
This is a modern boutique hotel that really works. The friendly professional team pay attention to every detail and have an evident pride in what they do. The hotel offers real quality while being totally unpretentious. The location, high above Simonstown, offers superb views over False Bay. The setting is peaceful. The rooms are light, spacious, very well appointed and comfortable. Dinner , tailored to individual needs, was perfectly cooked and presented. Excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
by Misao from Los Angeles

Heaven in the Ocean

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
I can say that was the best ever guest house in the world ! Strong recommend to you to stay at suite site which has great balcony !! And this guest house shadowed Magellan trip so whole concept was ship :) I like Manager and staffs at hotel very much. And wonderful perfect breakfast. Cheese and smoked hams are unforgettable ! It is the "Real Heaven".
5 out of 5
by Gordon from Mansfield, UK

Excellent place

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent place. Reasonable sized room. Aircon and overhead fan. Good staff. Good breakfast. Nice view over bay. Did not sample the evening meal. Quite a reasonable choice of restaurants within 25 minutes walk. The only downside is that if you do walk down into the town it is quite a climb up from the main street. Quite handy for an early start down to Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope to beat the day trips from Cape Town. Penguin colony just down the road.
5 out of 5
by Louise from Karlstad

Riktigt fint boende

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Ett underbart boende med fin utsikt och mycket trevlig personal. Fint rum och stort badrum!
5 out of 5
by Richard from Corsham

Great staff and a lovely luxurious hotel.

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted a high quality room in Simons Town for four nights. Whilst on the outskirts of town all amenities were within a 10 minute drive and the quality of the hotel more than made up for this. The staff were wonderfully engaging and even went out of their way to provide me with an early breakfast (outside of normal times) to enable me to leave early for game fishing. I highly recommend this lovely hotel as long as you do not expect to be right in the centre of town. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by HELEN from Burford

Beautiful modern boutique hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
Magellan’s Passage is a modern boutique hotel perched on the hills above Simon’s Town. This eco designed property is not to be confused with other hotels in this area. It has superior accommodation and that all important personal service that is only found in top end boutique hotels. All rooms are fabulously appointed with a combination of minimalist design and high end bathrooms. Facilities provided in our room were well thought out and fully functional. We even had a turn down service each evening. The views are stunning from the adjacent nature reserve, downtown Simon’s Town and over False Bay. The in house catering was exceptionally fresh and of a very high quality. This complimented with a fully functioning bar set Magellan’s Passage out from the competition. The most impressive aspect of our stay was the exceptionally high level of customer care delivered by our host Darwin and his well-trained team. Their service was relaxed, attentive, and seamless and what you would hope for in a high end establishment. Nothing was too much to ask for with advice that was both thoughtful and informative. Overall with its close proximity to Cape Point and the attention to detail provided by the front of house team, “Magellan’s Passage” is one of the best properties to stay when touring the Cape Peninsula.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great small hotel, furnished tastefully, gorgeous room with gorgeous view, friendly, accommodating staff, good breakfast. Note that you have to pre-reserve dinner a day in advance, since they come to the 'house' and prepare it in front of you in the kitchen. A bit of a walk to Simon's Town historic mile (up/downhill).