Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from London

Quality guest house

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Nice outside area to relax
Location: Ideal location in sea point easy access to all areas and able to walk locally to bars and restaurants.
A nice small guest house in an excellent area for getting around cape town, the room was excellent , free wifi was useful and the breakfast choice was very good. There were decent restaurants within walking distance and we never had any problems finding a parking space. I would thoroughly recommend Olaf's to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy/Olafs Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Keith, Thank you for your lovely review. We happy you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Feb 15, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location, clean and cozy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy/ Olafs Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for lovely review :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Comfy Place to Stay

Posted Jan 31, 2013
The room we stayed in was at par with that of a good hotel. The bathroom was clean and seemed to be newly renovated. The door lock & safety box were of old design, but these were well-maintaned and functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy/ Olafs Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. It is our honour to provide good service to our guests. Hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Dallas, TX, USA

Excellent b&b!

Posted Jan 4, 2013
I highly recommend this b&b! I loved everything about it: location, staff, room, amenities, etc. It superseded my expectations. I stayed there 3 nights and have not one negative thing to say about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy/ Olafs staff, Hotel Management
Hello Shane, Thank you for your lovely review :) Hope to see soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margie from Minneapolis, MN, USA

What more could you ask for?

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Raymond made sure we felt at home from the minute we walked into Olaf's guest house. The place has a friendly-charming atmosphere where most anyone would feel welcome. We enjoyed the breakfast each day in the outside courtyard, and when we returned from our travels, we enjoyed a drink in the living room from the well stocked refrigerator (you just mark what you took on a list and pay when you leave). It felt just like being at home. What more could you ask for?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Hello Margie, Thank you for your nice review. Hope you planning to visit us again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by pame from Bamako, Mali

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: The room was spacious, bed comforatable, tastefully decorated and very clean. The breakfast buffet was a wonderful selection of good quality foods.
Cons: When the wind blew....you could really hear it on the second floor.
Location: Close to the promanade and restaurants, a block away form the hop on hop off bus. The Vand A Waterfront is a 30 min walk away, or a short cab ride.
The staff were welcoming and friendly. They were ready to assist, but allowed me to go about my business. The check-in and out were quick. I felt comfortable in my room, the main sitting room or on the patio by the pool. My room was on the second floor and I had plenty of light.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy / Olafs staff, Hotel Management
Hello Pame, Thank you for your nice review. It is always lovely to see our guests happy. Hope to see soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie

home from home

Posted Jul 19, 2012
lovely, friendly guest house...owner and all staff very helpful indeed and stay at st.olavs really adds to holiday...recommend it very highly...would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Hello Maggie, Thank for your lovely stay. Hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, United Kingdon

Highly Recommended, Home from Home :)

Posted Nov 10, 2011
Location: Table Mountain, was a great experience, some of our party walked up and the more sensible group took the cable car, the views on the top are amazing and not to be missed. Boulders Beach is where you can find Penguins which I never knew lived in this country. Cape Point and the Cape of Good hope where the two oceans meet are spectacular to view. I didn't manage to go to Seal Island but others told me it was well worth a visit. The sunset boat trip is a definite must for some spectacular views.
We booked this hotel after trawling through a vast list of others in Cape Town and decided to go with the good reviews for Olaf's. Boy were we not disappointed! it was lovely, the owner was so friendly and made time to talk to each of the guests each morning and the staff couldn't be faulted either on their friendliness, service with breakfast of the cleanliness of the hotel/rooms, nothing was too much trouble. There was free access to a laptop for internet use and the feeling that you were at home whist you were there, they operate an honesty bar so drinks both alcohol and non alcoholic were available whenever you liked you just need to mark it against your room and there was chocolate/crisps if you got the munchies and couldn't be bothered to go out to buy some. It is only a 10 min taxi drive away from the main Waterfront which is full of restaurants, shops, craft markets and boat trips. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to South Africa and got to see some amazing sights make time to go on a sunset boat trip you will not be disappointed. We would definitely go back to Olaf's on our next visit and can not recommend this hotel highly enough to all others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cndy/Olafs Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for nice review. Hope you planning to visit us soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Refreshing stay

Posted Aug 17, 2011
I loved my three nights at Olaf's Guest House! It's great if you are looking for an island of crisp, clean European style comfort in Africa. Cape Town was at the end of my two week vacation, and I was more than ready for fast, free, reliable internet, billowy bedding and modern amenities. The breakfast was great (and free), you get eggs done to order with bacon. There's juice and coffee, bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit, and sliced meats laid out in the morning. All during the day there is a small refrigerator stocked full of drinks, payment is on the honor system - put your name on the sheet and what you took. Amazing. Raymond, the manager, was lovely as well. He called for cabs for me, he confirmed a tour, answered questions and was just generally very welcoming. Just don't let him tell you it's a short walk to V&A waterfront. It's 2.5 miles. I loved how small this place is as well, less than 20 rooms, very personal. I would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy / Olafs staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wollongong, NSW, Australia

Friendly, convenient and welcoming

Posted Jun 10, 2011
After a longhaul journey from Australia with 2 small children, Olaf's was a welcoming destination. We were delighted with the accommodation and the location near parks and shops and within a short bus ride of all Cape Town's city attractions. Breakfasts were plentiful and all our food preferences were catered for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again.