Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good location, easy access to nearby restaurants.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: easy access to town either walking via Greenpoint. Hop on/off bus stop at bottom of road.
very helpful staff. good breakfast. Car drivers be sure to park on correct side of road otherwise you are likely to get a parking fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location; helpful and courteous staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Olaf's guesthouse

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
I'd arranged a late arrival and had a warm welcome even though it was 11pm. The room was large and comfortable and the whole building had a welcoming atmosphere. I was on my own and never felt awkward in the house and felt safe in the area. The breakfast was excellent and in the summer could be eaten on the terrace, which was pleasant to sit on after breakfast when it was in full winter sun. I left early in the morning and breakfast was left in the fridge for me. I have already recommended Olaf's to friends in Cape Town who don't have a spare room for visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth, UK

Pleasant guest house near sea front & shops

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: The Guest house is in a quiet residential side street in between the sea front with pleasant promenade and shopping high street with restaurants.
Cons: Can't think of anything significant that could be improved
Location: Q&A Waterfront 1 hour walk along sea front. Cape Town centre shops likewise 10 min in car/taxi. Mountain /hills /coastline make this beautiful locatio
Thoroughly enjoyed staying 1 week at this Guest House. Owner and staff looked after our every need. Lots to do in and around Cape Town - vineyards, Cape Peninsula, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Chapman's Peak - all stunning scenery. We found this guest house a friendly and pleasant base for our holiday activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Cindy/ Olafs staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see again for next visit.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Columbus OH

Great Place!

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed 3 nights initially and a single night two weeks later. I loved it- great location, quiet, great staff. They go out of their way to accommodate. For example, after a cab he called for me did not show up, Raymond gave me a ride to the waterfront so I could catch my tour. Not going to see that at a hotel. I highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cindy, Hotel Management
Hello Gregory, Thank you for choosing to stay at Olaf's Guesthouse. We are glad that you have had a lovely a stay at our guesthouse, thank you for the great review. We do hope to see you in future.. Best Regards Olaf's Guesthouse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Olaf's guest house os fantastic

Posted Oct 4, 2015
This place is perfectly located. There are 4 Myciti bus lines, the beach, and the citysightseeing hop-on-hop-off bus all within 5 mins walk. Lot's of restaurants, supermarkets, and pharmarcy on the mthe main road. The staff was great. And the house was very quiet even though it was at full capacity. We will definitely stay here if we visit Capetown again. Note, there's no electrical outlet in the bathroom. So bring cordless shaver or ask for extension cord.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Cindy/ Olafs Staff, Hotel Management
Hello OOA2, Thank you for your lovely review. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay :)
4 out of 5
by Julie from Madison

Cozy retreat in a safe suburb

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
Olaf's Guesthouse is a lovely, cozy place to stay. Raymond was a helpful host and the breakfast was quite good, but it was rather lonely at the house in the winter season, with very few other guests and no one around at all most of the time. The neighborhood is fine, but it is quite a bit farther from the city center than I had estimated, so getting back and forth without a car meant taking taxis (about 60 Rand each way into downtown) or the Hop-On/Hop-Off bus (170 Rand for the day; 270 for 2 consecutive days--though you can save 20 Rand if you buy your tickets online ahead of time and bring a printout).
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cindy, Hotel Management
Hello Julie, Thank you for your nice review. We happy you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience of the transport. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malawi

Olav's Guest House

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: convenient positioned to most
Cozy Guest House with the host direct attention to detail. Will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Cindy/ Olafs Staff, Hotel Management
Hello Kim, Thank you for your lovely review. Looking forward to your next visit :)
5 out of 5
by John from Sarnia

Safe haven with pool

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a couple of days after a SA tour. Air con, clean pool, great breakfast, nice staff, laptop to use, free WIFI. In Sea Point, safe, easy to get to other areas of Cape Town. We would recommend and would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cindy, Hotel Management
Hello John, Thank you for your lovely review. Looking forward to your next visit :)
5 out of 5
by Jukka from Finland

Maybe one to a new visit to Olaf's

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent guesthouse-style facilities in the middle of beaches and busy town, quiet neighborhood. Good help in organizing your daily activities (trips, recommendations).
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cindy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely comment. We hope to see you again . We happy that you enjoyed your stay.