Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hussein from cape town

local business traveller

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
great location in central Stellenbosch; hotel was doing renovations but it did not affect us much; our rooms were next door to the hotel and access was not easy as the intercom was not always answered; the rooms were, however, comfortable, spacious and had all the expected amenities; Internet access was specified but this had a limit of 500MB; parking was specified but when I got there the parking was full and I had to park on the street - thankfully it was a safe area; breakfast was great. i would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Don't rent out in the middle of a major rehab

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were great but honestly this hotel was in the midst of a MAJOR rehab.. I'm not talking about a bit of plaster here or there, or work going on on another floor. There was dust and noise and missing pieces of things everywhere! they should've just waited till a wing was done before putting customers through that. Also the room we stayed in was musty and leaving the door ajar for 2 hours didn't cure it. To their credit though, the staff were very courteous and the breakfast spread was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay and the service is outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yve from Frankfurt

Sehr zentral gelegenes Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Es bietet eine sehr gute Ausstattung der Zimmer, valet parking, gutes Frühstück. Die Atmosphäre ist ruhig und gediegen, das Personal wirkt etwas distanziert aber grundsätzlich aufmerksam. Das Haupthaus versprüht einen kolonialen Charme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Snorre Hvitsand from Brekstad

Trivelig hotell i en hyggeli by

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
Det er flott å bo på et gammelt og ærverdig hotell i et fantastisk flott område og en svært hyggelig by, Stellenbosch
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Neil from Cheshire

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in central Stellenbosch with facilities to match - swimming pool, free secure parking area, very good buffet breakfast with some hot items cooked to order. I stayed in one of the apartments with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, terrace, lounge area and kitchen. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby as well as good shops in an upmarket town. Was allowed use of Manager's computer to check in for return flight home. Hope to return to Stellenbosch and will definitely stay at the Oude Werf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from Sussex UK

Central friendly hotel with pool

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Central location in town with a pool. The staff are very helpful and attentive and it is good to see familiar faces on return.
Location: Central to town and close to golf and vineyards.
We have been visiting Stellenbosch for a few years and keep returning to this hotel. They have a great variety of rooms to suit all needs. Despite being central, once in the hotel it is really quiet and calm.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christian from Lindau

Schwer nachgelassen

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
Ich habe per Internet ein Zimmer in der Oude Werf bestellt und bekam das woll schlechteste Zimmer (206) überhaupt. Direkt über dem Restaurant gelegen, ab 7 Uhr volle Geräuschkulisse. Die Vorhänge sind seit Jahren nicht gewaschen worden, das Badezimmer eher ein Witz mit allerhöchstens 2* Standard. Ich war schon 2 mal in der Oude Werf, das war sicherlich das letzte Mal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Ottawa

Spacious apartment; great location.

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The size of the two bedroom apartment and its location downtown in the old part of Stellenbosch.
Cons: More modern TVs and more more glassware in the apartment.
Location: Great location for exploring old Stellenbosch on foot and easy access to the main routes going to the wine districts.
We arrived at the hotel on a weekend that included the Stellenbosch Wine Festival and students return to the Univsersity. The staff checked us in efficiently and parked our vehicle in a secure underground space. We were shown to our two bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean and easily accessible. The breakfast was great and plentiful. The reception staff allowed his to use the office PC when it was needed.