Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london,United Kingdom

Very friendly and professionally staff

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Generally very good and a great location too.The staff were extremely helpful and had very good knowledge of the local area and places of interest.I had a good experience and will consider staying there again and spend more time at hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the beach in a very exclusive area

Posted Apr 16, 2016
The hotel was stunning with a beautiful view of the ocean and mountains. The hotel was located in a very high end exclusive area of cape town. The ocean was only two blocks away. The staff was extremely helpful and was always on hand to give suggestions or help arrange something for the guest to see or do. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is definitely a 5 star hotel and in this case you pay for what you get and even more. Next time I am in Cape town I would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bisbee az

Never Left The Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Killing your Duty Free booze and smokes on the pool patio in the wee hours, not having to explain that youre writing a 5 star review of the place.
Cons: They could move Africa closer to Tucson. And they could quietly sit down that pizza place and tell them that tomato sauce isn't a fossil fuel.
Location: There is an airport 30-40 minutes away. You can leave. That's the only other thing I would do here. No reason to leave a perfect hotel.
KLM fed me some poisoned breakfast on the 2nd leg of a 3-legged dog, 32 hour journey here, leaving me vomiting from both ends on the flight from AMS to CPT. This gave me the perfect excuse to do what I came here to do - absolutely nothing. I'm going into day 3 of a 4 day stay and have only left the hotel once to get anti-acid from the store down the street. I just wanted to come here to say I went to Africa. I dont want to annoy a lion or try to bury some white guilt in visiting Nelson Mandela's prison cell. I just wanted a bar and a pool and a decent hotel. If you say you are going to be in Africa, nobody expects you to check email or answer a phone. POD is a place you'll need to write down the address. No taxis seem to have heard of it which makes it even better. The pictures on Expedia are pretty but it's better in person. The staff were so friendly at check-in that I thought I'd been roped into a time share scam. But no, they're just that overcompensating. Breakfast is great, restaurants a block away for later. Free mini-bar? Unheard of! 2 restaurants that deliver but be warned - pizza place has pasta that you could throw at your shirt without leaving a red stain. Bring your own sauce. They have it at the same place that sells anti-acid. As I type this at 330 am outside by the pool in a post-modern IKEA dream-tunnel patio, I can hear the waves crash on the beach across the street. I'll try to get a picture of me on it before I leave, just to look like I'm interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Amazing staff!

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Great experience but suggest you avoid the mini mountain view rooms as they are very small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Perfect! I love this hotel and can't wait to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tanzania

Magical !

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Everything !
Cons: There is no room for improvement, everything is beyond perfect
Located in one of the best locations in Cape town , spectacular view of mountains on one side and the beach on other. And with the top notch hospitality of POD this has to be highlight of everyone's trip who decided to stay in POD
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Brendan Boyle, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate the kind words on the location and the hospitality. Best regards, Brendan Boyle General Manager, POD Camps Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich UK

Modernist architecture to die for

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Design, excellent coffee, simple wifi, views, accessibility and courteous and helpful staff.
Cons: Our only serious criticism is that the room designers provided nowhere at desk height so that I could use a laptop on it to sit and write.
Location: Easy access to Cape Town, good local restaurants at walking distance
Extremely helpful and welcoming staff and imaginative modernist architecture combined to provide a beautiful and restfull three days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Brendan, Hotel Management
It's great to hear that you enjoyed the architecture as so much time went into every detail of the design of the hotel. Thanks for the praise on the service. I am thrilled to hear that you managed to relax during your stay. Warm regards, Brendan Boyle General Manager, POD Camps Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

EXCELLENT POSITION

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Lovely hotel and great staff, they provide a very personal service, the hotel is in a great position a short walk to the beach and local restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Brendan, Hotel Management
Thanks for the wonderful review. Warm regards, Brendan Boyle General Manager, POD Camps Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing boutique hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Attentive staff; wonderful environment; very relaxing. An amazing weekend and looking forward to returning soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Brendan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5* review! Best regards, Brendan Boyle General Manager, POD Camps Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX, USA

Boutique Hotel -- Near the Beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Staff was very helpful!
Cons: 1. Wifi was very poor in the hotel. Unacceptable! 2. There were two levels in the room. One was a step above the other. This is a trip hazard.
Location: Beach location
We had a good stay. We were next to a good beach and close to very good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Brendan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic rating. Best regards, Brendan Boyle General Manager, POD Camps Bay