Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great stay - 3 days was too short!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Staff interaction. Standard of food. Views.
Cons: Bigger choice of menu for the evening. Cool drinks available at the swimming pool.
Location: Great base for exploring the Cape Winelands - Franschhoek and Stellenbosch.
Did not know code to open gate to the estate on arrival but staff (grape pickers) were very helpful. Reception staff were very welcoming. We were in room 6 (upstairs room) and it was exceptional - hope to return some time! The owl on our roof was very welcome and we enjoyed watching all the birds on the estate. The view in general of the surrounding area is superb. Spoke on several occasions to staff members and always had the feeling that we were being looked after. Interaction with other guests was always possible and there was a good mix of privacy and mixing. Breakfast and dinner under the trees was always a treat. WiFi was good in the communal areas although not very great in the room (no problem as this is normal). Would definitely return. Thanks to all the staff at Palmiet that made our stay so enjoyable and memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Superb guest house in the Cape Winelands

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This is not just a guest house! It is a beautiful complex of Cape Dutch buildings situated in the midst of a working vineyard. One enjoys a sundowner every night overlooking the estate, and takes meals under the oaks in an area enclosed by hydrangeas. Blissful! But what really makes this place is the staff, which is so attentive and friendly. Cannot be faulted!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The staff are truly wonderful. We loved our stay and hope to be back again soon. We had dinner one night - the soup was divine. Breakfast on the veranda was also spectacular. The grounds are lovely with a Cape Dutch style and lovely gardens. Great location for exploring the wineries in Paarl and Stellies. The hotel offers a "complimentary" sun downer at 6:30 pm on an elevated sun deck that overlooks the property. It's a nice opportunity to interact with other guests and chat about which wineries we visited that day and compare notes. My only suggestion is that the hotel be more upfront about what's complimentary and what's not - we were surprised to see charges for drinks at the "complementary" sundowner - easy to resolve by posting a clear sign of prices, not calling it "complementary," and just telling people what the prices were. Had we known, we would've preferred to bring our own bottle of wine. Same goes for breakfast - if staff ask someone if they want a coffee, it's assumed that it's included, but then after you get the menu you see that it's R25 each, which isn't a big deal, but as tea drinker, I would've been perfectly okay with tea over coffee and skipped the extra charges. Thanks for a great stay!
4 out of 5
by Quintus from Cape Town

Relaxing, superb views and service

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
If you looking for a quiet getaway, this is perfect. Excellent service, 5 star. We had a great stay and is also kiddie friendly, kids enjoyed the pool immensely. If I had to find something, it would be the particular room we were in. I hit my head twice, the position of the bed and the position of the bath are not great, The A frame roof is the reason - but hey, it didnt spoil my stay - still give it 5 out of 5.
5 out of 5
by David from Cheshire, U.K.

A Lovely Place to Stay in the Paarl Winelands Area

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful place with lovely staff who genuinely want to make one's stay as enjoyable as possible. Some of the room and bathroom fittings were a little old-fashioned but functioned adequately and added to the overall delightful ambience of the place. Dining was also a pleasurable occasion providing excellent meals to enjoy. This small boutique hotel is thoroughly recommended for a stay in the Winelands around Paarl.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

loads of character, beautiful and charming

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: loads of character. excellent staff. hands-on owner
excellent base for Paarl Area, winelands, golf, Wellington and Bains-Kloof Pass
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very relaxing with lovely pool and great service

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Wow! Such a relaxing place to stay. Really great setting with amazing views and a lovely garden. Nice to eat out in the evening. Rooms lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great luxury stay in old farmhouse on wine estate

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Great staff,setting room with beautiful outdoor dining area for dinner and breakfast,weather permitting. We would strongly recommend the hotel
5 out of 5
by James from Kuala Lumpur

Cape Classic

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great Cape classic. Exceedingly hospitable staff (sounds a bit cold, actually they are lovely) and generally great facilities. Not so good in the restaurant, however, for a single diner, when upon arrival a separate table had been set amidst multi tables, complete with razzles, top hats, streamers and balloons etc for a new years eve party! I fled in horror without eating. Breakfast, however, restored equilibrium.
5 out of 5
by Zelda from Washington DC

Excellent spot, very charming old world gem!

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
I will go back in a heartbeat. Lovely staff overall, premium service, great food! Sterling place.