Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel close to conference

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: It was very close to the conference I was attending.
Cons: see above
The breakfasts were excellent in quality and diversity, and the staff extremely helpful when I had a question. The first night there was no soap or shampoo & conditioner so was glad I had brought my own. I was surprised that there was no ironing facilities in the room as most hotels in the US have, and not many hangers. The bed was extremely comfortable, but I personally found the room a little too warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Conveniently located. Nice & clean.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Staff were helpful & friendly. Room good size & comfortable. Bathroom nice & clean except shower door not closing probably, so water leaks out a bit. Good views from our room. Our room is directly underneath the restaurant on the 11th floor, so every morning we can hear staff move tables & chairs at about 5am for a short period then it's quiet again. Nonetheless, we were awaken by the noise. Overall we had a very enjoyable 4 days stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Leyou Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of our hotel following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that overall your experience was positive about all aspects of your stay and that the staff could be helpful I do apologize that for the noise caused by the staff in moving furniture and have addressed this with the team to ensure that we do not create disturbance in preparing for the day. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Cape Town again. Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arora

Good location but bad staff

Posted May 28, 2017
Waited for 20 min for checkin. Horrible parking place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Nitin, Thank you for your review. We apologize you were disappointed with the parking at the hotel and the time it took to check in. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and will use your comments to improve our guest experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No use!

Posted May 20, 2017
I used gym for 4 days while I was there, For 4 days they never replace the fruit basket nor the fill the water, I will not stay at the same place again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Cengiz, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay and appreciate you sharing your experience. We hope you will consider us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted May 7, 2017
Great location, awesome breakfast, ( don't forget egg station. ) Friendliness just as discribed in other reviews. Quiet.Everyone helpful. Shuttle was nice touch.
4 out of 5
by Justine

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Dear Justine Thank you for the great review and taking the time to rate our service. I truly hope you have the opportunity to visit our lovely city again and we will be happy to be your home away from home. Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel, staff friendly and eager to assist.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
My husband and I enjoyed our stay. By the end of our week we were on first name basis with most staff. Very convenient to the waterfront, shopping and convention center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear TC Thank you for taking the time to provide us with fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is really a proud moment to read that our staff have been helpful and provided you with the service we pride ourselves in. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Cape Town. Kindest regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
1 out of 5
by Prateek

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Dear Prateek Thank you for the great review and taking the time to rate our service.I do however hope that we get the chance to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Cape Town again. Kind regards, Jim Schleich General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not in a hurry to go back

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
According to our booking we had city and mountain views - we had the tip of the mountain visable if we stood looking through the window at a slight angle. As for city views, we had theparking lot behind the hotel and the top of other buidlings in the city as our view. We most certainly did not have a 54inch tv as stated in our booking - we had a 32 inch tv. On our 2nd day we spent most of the day out of the room, when we returned after 3pm, housekeeping still had not been. When we called the front desk they said they would send someone right away, so we proceeded to the roof top restaurant and had lunch, when we returned just after 4pm, housekeeping still had not been, so we went to the front desk and had to wait another 30 minutes for housekeeping to clean - this was very inconvenient as by this time our youngest needed to have a nap! The staff on the roof top restaurant area, were very polite and helpful, as were the staff at the breakfast. We have been at this hotel twice before and feel like their standards have dropped immensely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the staff in the restaurant and at breakfast and we hope they helped make your stay more pleasant. We regret to hear you were disappointed with the view from your room and the size of your TV, as well as for the service you received from the housekeeping staff. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with hotel management to review.
5 out of 5
by kiritkumar

Great location to explore Cape Town from

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was great experience. Very friendly staff and a great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017
Dear Kiritkumar Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We do take every bit of guest feedback seriously in order for us to fine tune our operations. I do apologize for the experience you had during check in and will ensure that our Front team lifts the bar once more in welcoming. I am delighted to read that you found our location to be central and that you were able to view the breathtaking views of Table Mountain. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Cape Town again. Kind Regards, Jim Schleich General Manager