Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morrison, United States of America

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Great location, great food, attentive staff. Easy access to tour bus
Cons: Walking down driveway without separate defined pedestrian lane
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Short walk to beach. Staff very attentive.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
2 seniors on trip of a lifetime, stayed at hotel for 7 nights. All staff very pleasant. Had sea view room , lovely to wake up to that each morning. Good selection for breakfast. Food very tasty. All staff very kind & warming. Recommend hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Fantastic hotel in the right location in a great city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

Good location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Nothing much that you'd be interested in as we hardly stayed at the hotel. It says I need to add a bit more to the review but not really sure what to add other than mentioning it was a good location for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great location

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The President is an excellent hotel perfectly positioned with great amenities. The buffet breakfast in the morning is impressive - the service is a little sloppy - but the hotel staff are friendly and they try to please
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fareham

Great Location

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Superb location, clean and tidy room, very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Titchfield

Great Location

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Very nice hotel in a great location, rooms very comfortable and clean. Lots of staff around to help, but still drink and food orders took some time to arrive, but to be fair this wasn't restricted to the President hotel, I found this to be the case in almost everywhere we ate and drank in Cape Town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yangon

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Cons: the internet could be improved by 90%
Location: location is good,waterfront is close
Internet is very very poor .Unbelievably slow. very frustrating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SeTtle WA

Comunication

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Our room was a king suite. The bed was great but there was no other furniture in the room. Our room was next to housekeeping And yet there was an issue with cleanliness and items that were left in the cupboard from the last person. The pool and desk staff were great
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused during your stay regarding your room. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback about what happened has therefore been truly valuable to us. We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: location, price, breakfast
Cons: internet
No towels every day, had to beg to get clean towels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, We would sincerely like to apologise for the Towel issue which occurred during your stay. This by no means reflects the high level of standard we at The Protea Hotel President are usually proud to offer. We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback about what happened has therefore been truly valuable to us.