Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff very welcoming excellent customer service

Posted Apr 15, 2017
From the moment we checked in Dane made sure some one met us at the entrance took our luggage went out of his way to call and find tickets to Robben island for us I can't say enough about this place we left our safe open with a lot of money and no one touched anything. My friend forgot her passport at the hotel and the hotel staff flew to the airport to bring the passport to make sure we don't miss our flight. The best customer service I have ever probably will ever receive. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Albert Smit, Hotel Management
Dear Ruth, Trust all is well? Thank you for your feedback, we are elated that you enjoyed your stay! The entire TEAM looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
3 out of 5
by Mthembi

Good

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was good, but breakfast menu was never changed during duration of my stay. They must also make big hot boiling water for tea or coffee instead of using small jugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mthembi, Thank you for providing us with constructive feedback on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
4 out of 5
by Nandipha

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Was fantastic will surely come back with my siblings next time..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nandipha, We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was great. Although our apartment was not as clean as expected as the days went by. On the first day it was perfectly clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and highlighting the discrepancies you experienced. We will pass this onto the TEAM in order to ensure this does not materialise again. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious and relaxing

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
All good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
2 out of 5
by Avigdhor

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Avigdhor, Thank you for your review, could you pleased advise where we fell short and how we can improve in order to gain 5 star service. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
5 out of 5
by CJ from Johannesburg

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great Hotel in a Great Area. We loved the Family apartment. Two Adults and 2 Kids lived there in comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear CJ, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville, We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels brings you to Cape Town. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
3 out of 5
by Donovan from Johannesburg

Protea hotel Durbanville

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was not ready when we arrived at 14h00. There was no bottles of water or a mini bar in the room and the air con did not work properly. The coffee and milk was not replenished daily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donovan, Thank you for your constructive review and sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We will highlight your review to the TEAM in order to ensure this does not materialize again. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
5 out of 5
by Nobulali from Port Elizabeth

They did their best. It is a perfect place to be.

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
I am very happy that I chose Protea Hotel for our holidays. It was refreshing ,clean and a good experience in my life. Everybody was kind and helpful,not to mention their breakfast. Everything was just perfect. Thank to everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nobulali, Thank you for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager
3 out of 5
by Gerd from Pretoria

A little disappointing maybe....

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
No globe in the bedside table and allthough reported was not attended to! Why do Protea build a Hotel without a lift? Quality of the room coffee.....Ricofee in an upmarket Hotel? nonono
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gerd, Thank you for bringing this to our attention, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you received. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager