Ratings based on 4 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Not value for money

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Good reception staff
Cons: Need to manage noise levels to the room Improve quality of towels Upgrade/Renovate to justify the price
Location: Nothing in walking distance around the hotel
Reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Hotel was noisy and loud music played in the corridors. Room was spacious but was well used. Towels were hard and had zero fluff on them. Breakfast area was dark and dated. Food quality was solid. In terms of price for facilities; this is NOT a value for money hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2015 by Albert Smit, Hotel Management
Dear Valued GUEST, We at Protea Hotel Durbanville would like to thank you for your feedback and highlighting areas we can work on to exceed your expectation. Kind Regards Albert Smit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, one gripe!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly service
Cons: Curtains instead of blinds. Gym or sauna facility.
Nice hotel, but the blinds rather than curtains prevent any sort of sleep in with far too much light in the room. Such a shame as it would be the deciding factor in staying again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2015 by Albert Smit, Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your feedback, we have addressed the situation regarding the light in the room and you can be assured that it has been resolved. forward to welcoming you through our doors again Albert Smit General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice hotel in Durbanville area

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Modern, clean, well equipped with spacious rooms. Friendly staff. On the more expensive side though. I chose the hotel because it was closest to a conference venue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2015 by Albert Smit, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for you review, Could you please advise which conference venue you went to? Kind Regards Albert Smit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: see above
Cons: restaurant ran out of orange juice at breakfast for several days
Location: A little out of the way up in the hills of Durbanville, a suburb of Cape Town, but with good views
This is a pleasant, clean, safe, attractive and well-appointed hotel on the outskirts of Cape Town, approximately 25 minutes drive to the centre. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, friendly service by helpful staff, and good food in the restaurant. Breakfasts were impressive - with a choice of crispy bacon in addition to the usual soggy fat-dripping variety. The swimming pool was more of a pond than a pool, but nevertheless clean and refreshing. Good conference facilities as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Mynhardt, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you so much for your kind words. You are so right that we are centrally located: 5 minutes from Durbanville commercial hub, 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport and 30 minutes away from the Waterfront and Stellenbosch Winelands. It is great to see that you mention our friendly STAFF as BEST GUEST Service is one of our Principals. Our pool is not the largest pool, but it assists in instantly cooling one down in our hot summer days and it creates such a calming ambiance whilst sipping away on a cocktail in our pool and lounge bar. We are hoping to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager Protea Hotel Durbanville.