Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Great location and excellent staff, but tired room

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Cape Town dock, conference centre, table mountain and Bree St
Staff couldn't be better. Very close to amentities of Bree St and the docks. The room furnishings are starting to look a bit worn. Coffee table had a chip off it etc. Fixtures are still in perfect condition. Small things would make this place a full five stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Will use this hotel again.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Shuttle from airport overpriced.
Location: Near waterfront, walking distance. A lot of good restaurants around.
Good location. Buffet breakfast was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable and had everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

The Staff in Prtea Hotel CapeTown were fabulous

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The service at this hotel was superb
Cons: No faults and no problems
Location: Near to Waterfront, Greenmarket Square and restaurants. Lots of activities can be booked including cage diving with sharks!
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Recommend to anyone visiting Cape Town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Very close to Conv Centre and only a short walk to V&A ward area. Huge rooms with full kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, large living room. Restaurant is ok. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Very comfortable accommodation.. Clean rooms and very good. Vibes.. It is close to the V&A shopping centre and many of the local attractions eg museums, nightlife, restaurants, music is just a short walking distance.. Hotel is quite centrally located.. Only downside is that it gets a little deserted at night when the major businesses have closed for the day.. I enjoyed my stay, I would recommend this hotel and I definitely would be back...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne Australia

Nice hotel close to convention centre

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Cape Town great. Lionshead, Table Mountain, cape of Good Hope
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice Hotel, good location.

Posted Mar 13, 2016
We had a very pleasant stay at the Protea. We stayed in a one bedroom sweet, which was very large. The bed was excellent, and also had a large balcony. The hotel is centrally located so you can walk most places or take a short cab ride. The only negative was we were on the second floor and you could hear most of what was going on at street level. Very clean and staff was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jo'burg

Close to waterfront, good comfort for its price

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Its location near the waterfront is convenient, its price for the room size and comfort is very valuable, the security of the lifts
Cons: Room cleanliness, particularly on bathrooms, better bath supplies, and extra breakfast pastries and fruits for everyone during rush breakfast hours
Good size rooms, cleanliness deserves more attention on bathrooms, lift security very reliable, low-quality bath soap, pool deck broken, tight parking spaces, breakfast with good quality food and variety, in rush breakfast hours, not enough pastries and fruits for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in heart of cape town

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Space and facility
Cons: Dinner choices
Location: Easy access to V & A waterfront, Clifton beach, Table Top Mountain & retuarants etc
We had quick access to V &W Waterfront, Table top mountain. Good rooms, nice facilities and decent breakfast Courteous staff. We stayed there while visiting out of cape town and on return back to cape town we stayed there again as kids also loved the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Nice Hotel with Great Apartments and Close to the

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Front desk staff were very friendly and engaging. Housekeeping staff were very responsive.
Cons: Food ordering takes a long time and has a very limited menu.
Location: Great location. Tons of things to do. Easy access to V & A Water Front shops and malls.
Beautiful 5 night stay in the hotel. I appreciated the hotel's efforts to accommodate my needs. In particular, the found me a room so that I could stay 1 extra night to celebrate New Years Eve in Cape Town. The staff were very gracious in assisting me to organize a small 8 person dinner in the apartment. They brought tables, chairs, dishes, cutlery etc. -- absolutely the best effort one could have expected. They made my New Year's Celebration an amazingly happy one.